Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Australian Politics » Andrew Bolt’s response to the Judgement

Andrew Bolt’s response to the Judgement

This morning I am going to be just a bit naughty (in terms of copyright) and reproduce in its entirety Andrew Bolts response to the judgement yesterday.  Frankly what he has to say about this very sad outcome deserves to be disseminated far and wide and he is absolutely right to be disgusted by this divisive and stupid law and the consequences of the judgement for the cohesiveness of our culture and any notion of free speech in Australia .

Nothing to Cheer about Comrades

Enjoy!!!

Andrew Bolt after the Federal Court ruling. Picture: Trevor Pinder Herald Sun

IT IS time we put aside racial and ethnic divisions. As multicultural Australia strives for harmony, these distinctions merely reinforce existing barriers.

I am the son of Dutch parents who came to Australia the year before I was born.

For a long time, I have felt like an outsider here, not least because my family moved around so very often.

You know how it is when you feel you don’t fit in. You look for other identities, other groups, to give you a sense of belonging, and perhaps some status.

So for a while I considered myself Dutch, and even took out a Dutch passport.

Later I realised how affected that was, and how I was borrowing a group identity rather than asserting my own. Andrew Bolt’s.

So I chose to refer to myself as Australian again, as one of the many who join in making this shared land our common home.

Yet even now I fret about how even nationality can divide us.

To be frank, I consider myself first of all an individual, and wish we could all deal with each other like that. No ethnicity. No nationality. No race. Certainly no divide that’s a mere accident of birth.

So that’s the background to the calamity that hit me yesterday.

That’s why I believe we can choose and even renounce our ethnic identity, because I have done that myself.

But I also believe that many people now increasingly do insist on asserting racial and ethnic identities, and that we increasingly spend money and pass laws to entrench them.

I think that a terrible pity, even a danger, because surely in a multi-ethnic community like ours it’s important to stress what unites us, not what divides.

As you might know, I have argued against this trend. For instance, and this is what brought me to the court, I have written about what seems to me an increasing trend of people to identify as Aboriginal, when even their looks loudly suggest they have ancestry drawn from many “races” or ethnicities, especially European.

In two columns in particular – and that’s where this misery started – I wrote about people who, it seemed to me, had other options than to call themselves, without qualification or hyphens, “Aboriginal”.

They included nine fair-skinned Aborigines who responded not with public arguments, but with a legal action in the Federal Court to have my articles banned forever, and me prevented from ever again writing something similar.

Full text: Click here for the Federal Court’s full judgement

I’m talking about people such as an Aboriginal lawyer whose father was British, an Aboriginal activist whose own sister identified as non-Aboriginal, and an Aboriginal writer whose father was born in Austria.

In those articles I wrote that I did not question the genuineness of their identification.

I did not even go as far as did Professor Larissa Behrendt, one of those who took me to court, who nine years ago declared that the definition of Aboriginality needed to be tightened, or “you run the risk of having the parameters stretched to the ludicrous point where someone can say: ‘Seven generations ago there was an Aboriginal person in my family, therefore I am Aboriginal’.”

To be clear: not once did I say that these people had no right to call themselves Aborigines. I’ve always accepted that they do.

I am too worried now to quote directly from what I did actually write, but my argument – which Justice Mordecai Bromberg of the Federal Court yesterday rejected – was that such people had choices.

They could choose to identify as Aboriginal, or as some other ethnicity in their ancestry, or, as I do, as Australian. Even as an individual.

Indeed, they could do as the former sprinter Patrick Johnson once put it in his own case: “I have the best of both cultures, of a couple of cultures. I mean, Dad’s Irish. I’m Aboriginal as well.”

As well. And, in fact, since I wrote my damn columns two years ago, I’ve seen that one of the people I wrote about has indeed since described herself as someone of many heritages – “of English, Jewish and Wathaurung descent”.

Two years ago, I would cheerfully have argued that this acknowledgment of a multiple ethnicity was healthier, and truer, in such cases than insisting on only being Aboriginal.

But not today. I no longer dare.

I yesterday learned I had breached the Racial Discrimination Act, as interpreted by Justice Bromberg, and I must now be very, very careful about discussing anyone’s identification with any ethnic group or “race” in multicultural Australia.

Here is a relevant part of his judgment:

“At the core of multiculturalism is the idea that people may identify with and express their racial or ethnic heritage free of pressure not to do so.”

In fact, it seems from Justice Bromberg’s judgment that it is against the values of the Racial Discrimination Act for me to write columns likely to “pressure” people to give up some racial identity.

Again, I quote: “Such pressure may ultimately cause a person to renounce their racial identity. Conduct with negating consequences such as those that I have described, is conduct inimical to the values that the RDA seeks to honour.

“People should be free to fully identify with their race without fear of public disdain or loss of esteem for so identifying.”

To argue against their choices is apparently “destructive of racial tolerance”. And, I now find to my astonishment and utter dismay, the arguments as expressed in my articles are also against the law.

CRUCIAL to Justice Bromberg’s finding is that fair-skinned Aborigines such as the claimants do not choose their ethnic or “racial” identity, even though one of the nine in the court action against me conceded in court that her own sister disputed her account of their genealogy and did not consider herself to be Aboriginal.

If Justice Bromberg’s view is correct, I would be even more depressed than I am already.

It would have grave implications for our multi-ethnic or “multi-racial” community. Must we always be defined by our ancestry, trapped forever in some box of race? Is someone with even just 1/128th Aboriginal ancestry forever an Aborigine, and Aborigine only?

Well, yes, suggests Justice Bromberg’s judgment – as long as that person felt Aboriginal and other Aborigines approved. And this must be the law, end of debate, even if many of us disagree – even though, as His Honour wrote, “the perception of many Australians of an Aboriginal person will no doubt be influenced by the stereotypical images of a dark-skinned Aboriginal person in outback Australia”.

But I must not go further. I may breach the law.

True, having declared my columns unlawful, Justice Bromberg did insist he did not mean to “suggest that it is unlawful for a publication to deal with racial identification including the challenging the genuineness of the identification of a group of people”.

Oh, really?

Believe me, I wouldn’t ever want to test that assurance after going through what I have — two years of worry, two weeks in court, and hundreds of thousands of dollars in legal costs, just to test whether my columns could pass this muster.

And, yes, Justice Bromberg suggests I did bring all this upon myself, not because of my opinion (even though he condemns it) but because of the way I expressed it.

After all, I used “mockery, derision (and) sarcasm” in writing my columns, and this could offend and humiliate people – although, frankly, the most offensive thing said by anyone in this case was the vilification of me by the claimant’s own barrister, Ron Merkel QC, who accused me of having a eugenics approach towards race – the approach which he said was behind the Nazis’ Nuremberg race laws. There was even an attempt to paint me as homophobic.

I also made mistakes, Justice Bromberg said, although none seemed to me to be of consequence.

Moreover, when I wrote that none of the fair-skinned Aborigines I’d mentioned had chosen their racial identity for “anything but the most heartfelt and honest of reasons”, people would think I wasn’t being “genuine”.

Justice Bromberg also said I’d used “derisive” comments “that have little or no legitimate forensic purpose to the argument”.

His Honour cited a long list of these bad comments of mine, such as “seeking power and reassurance in a racial identity is not just weak” and “it is also divisive, feeding a new movement to stress pointless or even invented racial differences”.

FOR expressing such views, in such language, I have lost my freedom to put my argument as I did.

And be warned: use such phrases as those yourself, and you too may lose your right to speak.

But as I say, Justice Bromberg insists he hasn’t stopped debate on racial identification, unless, apparently, your adjectives are too sharp, your wit too pointed, your views too blunt, your observations not quite to the point, your teasing too ticklish and your facts not in every case exactly correct.

And even then, having jumped every hurdle and written with the forensic dullness of a Reserve Bank governor, you will run the risk of a judge deciding that whatever you’ve written is, after all, the very opposite of what you really meant.

Despite Justice Bromberg’s assurances, I feel that writing frankly about multiculturalism, and especially Aboriginal identity, yesterday became too dangerous for any conservative. It’s simply safer to stay silent, or write about fluffy puppies instead.

And so the multiculturalists win. They win, because no one now dares object for fear of what it will cost them in court.

Hope they’re satisfied, to win a debate not by argument but fear.


46 Comments

  1. Craigy says:

    What a classic, “my free speech has been taken away” as told by Andrew Bolt on the front page of the biggest selling paper in the country. Inside we see more of his free speech being taken, as he repeats his views on ‘white skinned Aborigines’’ in a two page spread.

    It just amazes me that people still defend this man and think his poor me, my freedoms have been taken line is anything more than a sick joke.

    David Marr points it out, he is just a poor writer and ‘Journalist’.

    http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/society-and-culture/freedom-of-speech-rides-on-20110928-1kxaa.html

    He did the same with his article after the Victorian Bushfire. In his haste to attack “Greenies” his poorly written and badly researched typing caused hurt and distress to many people who could not cope with his insensitivity. It was only a matter of time before his offensive writing went beyond the law.

    It is clear he can still put forward his views, as he did again today. However it is not okay to make up ‘facts’ or exclude information in order to attack someone for being who they are, without any attempt to contact them to check this information.

    This is a good outcome, and no amount of trying to re-write it as a freedom of speech issue will change that. Bolt and the HS defeated that argument on their own today by publishing this angry rant aimed at deflecting the real issue here, Bolt’s poor work and his racist views.

  2. damage says:

    Jeremy is now commenting here via proxy Craigy.

  3. Luzu says:

    Gary Johns wrote a very good article on the topic of Bolt’s conviction. I will quote part here:
    “The issue of Aborigines identifying as Aborigines should be one of supreme indifference to public policy. As with any private association it is a private matter. It becomes public because there are public benefits in so identifying. The fact people are sensitive about the link between identity and benefit serves to underline the fact there is such a link: remove the benefits, remove the sensitivity.”
    A person of the mediocre talents of Larissa Berhendt would not occupy the position she currently holds were it not for her claim to be Aboriginal. She is intelligent but not outstandingly so, certainly no more than several others who are her equal in intellect but, alas, not in genealogy.
    Their gripe with Bolt is that he proposed that their Aboriginal identity was for the purposes of material gain. If it weren’t true, why not sue for defamation, libel or slander?
    If it weren’t for the myriad of benefits which flow from ticking the appropriate box, this would be a non-issue, just as Gary Johns wrote. But while there is material advantage to be had, all manner of people will identify as Aboriginal. It’s human nature.
    Before you begin to shriek in indignation, Craigy, please note: I’m no fan of Andrew Bolt. His writing is selective and not overly informative or perceptive. But this ruling is an example of a bad law. If it were a rabid anti-Semite who wrote things in a similar vein to Bolt (ie no incitement to violence, etc), I would say the same thing.

  4. Craigy says:

    No worries Luzu, your comments seem thoughtful except you repeat the very thing that Andrew was found to have used to distort the argument, a lie if you like. I’ll show you.

    You said: “The fact people are sensitive about the link between identity and benefit serves to underline the fact there is such a link”

    This from Marr about Bolts lack of defence to his claim of a link:

    “Bolt’s lawyers had to concede even before this case began in the Federal Court that nine of these named “white Aborigines” had identified as black from childhood. All nine came to court to say they didn’t choose this down the track but were raised as Aborigines. Their evidence was not contested by Bolt or his paper.

    So as we say in the trade: no story. Yet Bolt went at it with mockery, derision and sarcasm. They are Judge Bromberg’s words. He added: “I accept that the language utilised in the newspaper articles was inflammatory and provocative.”

    http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/politics/in-black-and-white-andrew-bolt-trifled-with-the-facts-20110928-1kxba.html#ixzz1ZIllvems

    Anyway it is such a dumb argument, just because he didn’t feel a close enough connection with his Dutch family history to identify as Dutch this means everyone who does feel a close connection with their family history and culture should just ignore it, no matter how strong or important the pull?

    Or is he saying that our culture is so much better that they should just assimilate, I think I have heard that argument from him or his supporters at some stage.

    An argument could be had (and is probably the one Bolt should have started rather than his smear attempt) that some Australian adults, who identify as having an Aboriginal family background and culture, do use this background and culture to their own benefit when they can.

    I don’t see this as a problem and it is clear Bolt raised this as part of his attempt to smear this group of people. I have never seen Bolt attack people who have an Italian background for taking a job at SBS. What about this guy:

    http://www.vic.gov.au/contactsandservices/directory/?ea0_lfz99_120.&organizationalRole&a4cde566-2b54-432b-8e76-537bab14a0b8

    When is Bolt going to write about him using his Greek background to gain this job?

    damage, what are you on about? Why are you stalking me? I said I have no interest in talking to you, so please stop being obsessive.

  5. Iain Hall says:

    Craigy
    Bolt is Dutch by birth

  6. Damage says:

    Craigy
    I told you I’ll comment on anything I please.

    Are we to understand that being “inflammatory and provocative” is now illegal in Australia?
    Are we to understand that people here believe this to be appropriate?

  7. Ray Dixon says:

    Bolt was born in Australia, Iain, and he’s never lived in Holland. It seems to me that all he’s done by “ditching his Dutch heritage” is to claim his natural birthright, much like the “white aborigines” have. Yet he admonishes them for that.

    If you don’t mind I’ve written a brief summary post on Bolt’s reaction too – over at AO – and I’ll link it here. I think it sums it up:

    http://alpineopinion.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/sorry-seems-to-be-the-hardest-word-for-andrew-bolt/

    Thanks.

  8. Luzu says:

    Craigy,
    Thank you for the pleasant response. And also the very clear quote regarding the identity of the complainants from childhood. If Bolt had that information before writing those articles, then he is indeed a liar.

    But my point stands. If there were no real, tangible benefits to claiming one identity over another, it would not be the fraught issue that it is in Australia today.

    Larissa Behrendt, to me, displayed her true colours when claiming that bestiality was less offensive than Bess Price, simply because Price was not on board with her vision as to how Aboriginals should live. Not that it means she should not be able to challenge Bolt’s accusations but it seems hypocritical to me that she claims to be a victim on one hand (with the requisite hurt feelings) while simultaneously abusing an elder from the same group she so deeply identifies with. Surely, respect for older people is one area where we can learn from Aboriginals?

  9. Ray Dixon says:

    If there were no real, tangible benefits to claiming one identity over another, it would not be the fraught issue that it is in Australia today

    That’s true, Luzu, but the reality is for most aborigines that they don’t have the same opportunities that the white majority has. Not yet – that’s why we give assistance. If, however, as Bolt claims, there are *some* aborigines who are “more white than black” and do not need or deserve to claim the tangible benefits offered to disadvantaged blacks (and I don’t deny there are some who do that) then that’s an issue for the administrators of the Aboriginal programs to deal with. We don’t hear a lot of protest about it from “true aborigines” so I reckon it’s pretty fair to say that Bolt is beating the issue up. And my guess is he does that because he’s fundamentally racist.

  10. Craigy says:

    I agree with your comments about Larissa Luzu. I don’t think people are perfect and this is a good example.

    With regards my comments about tangible benefits, are you suggesting only Aboriginal people do this, or would you concede that we all use what we have to try and make a better life?

  11. Craigy says:

    “Craigy
    Bolt is Dutch by birth “

    No his parents are Dutch, he was born here, but he said he has chosen to be Dutch for a while and then chose to be Australian, so he thinks we should all be able to choose our culture and ethnicity and that is what ‘white’ Aboriginal people do..

    I could claim to be Dutch if I wished. My father was born there from Dutch parents. I am however Australian, this was how I was raised and I have no major connection to Dutch culture although I am fond of some aspects of it.

    I always knew I was Australian, not Dutch or Scottish or English (mums side) and couldn’t imagine someone telling me I’m not or that I could change my identity.

  12. Ray Dixon says:

    Craigy, you can bet your life that if there were “special benefits and opportunities” made available to Dutch people in Australia, Bolt would take them up (if he needed them).

  13. Craigy says:

    Thanks Ray, it is amazing the way none of us are free to have this discussion any more isn’t it?…..LOL

  14. Luzu says:

    Ray,
    Can you tell me how Aborigines are disadvantaged solely by being Aborigines? I’m not being smart-mouthed here. I genuinely want to know how it is you perceive that being white gives you opportunities denied to Aboriginals.

  15. Ray Dixon says:

    Can you tell me how Aborigines are disadvantaged solely by being Aborigines?

    Yes. Get in your car and drive to the NT or any other aboriginal community and see for yourself. The thing is, Luzu, that reform and bringing them up to equal opportunity takes time. A long time. One day they won’t need it but we’re not there yet.

  16. Ray Dixon says:

    Careful, Craigy. Damage is going to take you to the Federal Court if you dare say any more nasty things about Catholics. He’ll use ‘The Bolt Precedent’ and represent himself.

  17. Craigy says:

    Free speech….I’ll show these judges…..

    Look at this! Koories using their culture to make money!!!

    http://www.koorienightmarket.com.au/

    And this guy is white!!!

    http://www.koorienightmarket.com.au/be-involved

    The horror, oh the horror…….oh no, I’ve done it now……..

    ….. the thought police are coming to get me, they are knocking on my door as we speak……. Andrew…..ANDREW!!!!

  18. Craigy says:

    Ray, yes I thought someone might try and draw a comparison with Catholic child abuse.

    I call these people out and say take me to court.

    People who abuse children are low life scum.

    People, who abuse children while using their membership of the Catholic Church or any Church as a way to abuse children, are the worst kind of low life scum.

    Church groups that support child abusers and try and keep it in house to save there reputation are as bad as the low life scum

    People who are a member of a Church and don’t condemn the on-going and systematic child abuse in the organisation they support, but in fact defend the abuser and move them around so they can continue to abuse, well, are the lowest scum on the planet.

    Christians or any religious people or members of any group, who refuse to see this and stand up against abuse or violence in their own club, for any reason, are low life scum.

    Now off to court we go……not.

  19. Damage says:

    Wasn’t there an issue recently about the fact that QLD police refused to persue a pedophile Priest?
    Low life scum.

    Anyone whho takes measures to save his own life while abandoning his neighbours to their fate??????????

  20. Angel says:

    Luzu, simply driving to a community will not show you any disadvantage. It will show you life choices. We all have a choice, some are given a handout along with this and there is no way this can lead to reform. At best this will grow resentment amongst the whites and less individual responsibilities amongst the Aboriginals.

    Just this week I have seen another condemned house fenced off, we will provide another for the same purpose though. Kids from Palm Island were rewarded a trip to the snow fields if they attended school, should we need this incentive for only a select group. Parents should have the morals to send their children to school, especially when the fees, books, uniforms, laundry of clothes. excursion costs, breakfast, transport etc are all paid for. Fair go, how much more can the government handout before they start doing the right thing.

    This is not disadvantage but life choices.

  21. Ray Dixon says:

    This is not disadvantage but life choices.

    So aborigines”choose” to be born into disadvantage? Okay – it must be their fault then.

  22. Ray Dixon says:

    Just to elaborate on that, Angel. It has only been in recent decades that aborigines were even recognised as Australian citizens. There’s no doubt that it’s a hard road to bring them up to equality but that’s what those ‘handouts’ are designed to do. They’re not the whole answer and I agree there’s a big downside to just throwing money at the problem, but you have to wean them off it because it’s just inherent in their environment & circumstance that equal opportunity has not been there.

    I agree that self-help and making better choices is the aim – the trick is how to get them there. But I strongly disagree that the help we give aborigines should “build resentment among whites”. If anyone resents them they’re just being mean spirited in my opinion. Do you seriously resent aborigines’ lifestyle “choices”, as you put it? How does it hurt or impact on you? Don’t you realise that there are plenty of indolent white people living off handouts too, including: pensioners, disabled, unemployed and single mothers? Do you “resent” ALL those people too? ALL of them, just because some of them are bludgers and are chosing to live off handouts? Give aborigines the same benefit of the doubt and you might see it differently.

  23. Angel says:

    Yes I resent it. Why, cause I am one who could claim these benefits (going back to the Bolt topic). I have had my children resent working hard at something and not getting it cause we are white. They have even suggested to me that why cant we get it also, I believe morals are more important to instal in our children than a “me generation”. I do get the ALL of them suggestion you make, this is apparent with every race, however, we have constructed this mentality and can only blame the government with its open purse solution.

    Wean them off? Like addicts? Great work done there from the anti-discrimination team.

    I agree that equality has not always been there, very shameful part of our history actually. When do we, as the future generations, stop paying for this, how long can we continue this “my land” mentality. Yes white man brought in the alcohol and petrol but does it make sense for herion addicts to blame Afghanistan?

    Ray, name one disadvantage that could not come down to life choice.

  24. Ray Dixon says:

    Which benefits that aborigines receive would you and your children like to claim too, Angel? Do you seriously believe the government doesn’t provide well for you? I’m sorry to hear that you resent others receiving assistance so much that you’re envious of aborigines and what they get.

  25. Angel says:

    I would not like to claim them, nor have I ever. My younger children are too niave to know why discrimination practices are implemented. If children can see each other as the same, why can we not? If children can see that aiming for best grades will not get you class captain, being the fastest on track will not get you selection, if being white means you do not go on extra school excursions, why can we not?
    The government provides for me, yes, but how does the government manage to do this. Assure you that I give them way more than the value of the roads I drive on.

    About that disadvantage?

  26. Ray Dixon says:

    Sorry to hear that you and your children are suffering from all this discrimination, Angel. Oh to be an aborigine and have it so good, eh?

    As for “About that disadvantage?” I presume you want an answer to your earlier question, “name one disadvantage that could not come down to life choice”? It’s just too simplistic, Angel. You presume that aborigines have the same choices and opportunities that you take for granted but the facts speak differently.

  27. Angel says:

    Why would anyone presume that if your makeup was less than 50% then you assume that as your dominate race. That is backwards thinking. Halle Berry did the same and even took her ex to court over it. He said their daughter was not black, she wanted him stopped from saying it, she won. The facts are that she is 50% black and he is none, thus the daughter is 75% white. How can the courts overrule very simple mathematics in the place of pride.

    I dont say I am aborigine, that would be plain stupid when it is not dominate in my makeup. My great grandmother being Spanish does not give the right to claim that I am a Spaniard either.

    I’m Australian. Why do people find that so hard to say?

    Look at those facts with a bit of scruitnity, even the medical ones. Then say it still comes down to disadvantagement not choices.

  28. GD says:

    Larissa Behrendt is also 75% Caucasian. This is what Bolt was talking about. Now he can’t talk about it.

  29. Angel says:

    So if she believed she was a fairy with wings then we have to just accept that also?

  30. GD says:

    Of course, and we’re not allowed to say otherwise, or we might cause ‘offence’.

  31. Angel says:

    Ray fell in the same trap too. When I said I have aborigine in me he then calls me Aboriginal???

    Common sense needs to come back in play. People are just that, people. Why should I be happy about special treatment for something their parents, or grandparents, or great grandparents decided to do in a spare 10 minutes.

  32. Ray Dixon says:

    He can talk about it, GD. And he has talked about since the judgement. You’re both talking about it too. I guess if you added a bit more vitriol and provocation like Bolt did in his articles, then you too might be in breach of the Act. Anyway, this is just pointless. I dunno why you seem to think there’s anything wrong with claiming one’s heritage – they hardly get better benefits than, let’s say, Angel and her family does (although try telling her that!)

  33. Angel says:

    Those guys are great GD, liked it. Irony is comical.

  34. Angel says:

    What benefits Ray? I pay for the doctor, private schooling, tutoring, dentist, transport, clothing, shoes, extra curricular, groceries, house, cars. I have never used childcare and do not receive family payments.

    It is going to be a hard sell to me Ray.

  35. Craigy says:

    What a laugh.

    Angel and GD…….classic…..50% black, 75% white, blood is just simple maths…….wow, just wow.

    I know Angel…. from now on you must have more than 50% Australian blood (50% of you Mum and Dads blood must be at least born here from parents born here) or you must hand back your Aussie citizenship and stop calling yourself Australian, or you go to jail. Good idea hey?

    What percentage of my blood would need to be Australian for me to call myself Australian? Can you help me Angel or GD?

  36. Craigy says:

    Yeah we’ve all been silenced…….oh dear…my sides my sides…….poor, poor Andrew….

  37. Ray Dixon says:

    Ray fell in the same trap too. When I said I have aborigine in me he then calls me Aboriginal???

    Huh? Angel, you didn’t say you had “aborigine in you” and I didn’t call you one.

    What benefits Ray? I pay for the doctor, private schooling, tutoring, dentist, transport, clothing, shoes, extra curricular, groceries, house, cars. I have never used childcare and do not receive family payments.

    The fact you can afford private schooling, tutoring, a house and life’s luxuries is the benefit you have of not being born an aborigine (well, not being born into the same circumstances most were). I know that’ll go over your head but that’s the answer. It strikes me that you seem as well off as most people and you’re just complaining about aborigines for the hell of it. Why not pick on pensioners – you’re supporting them too and, hey, they get free medical!

  38. Angel says:

    Craigy, That seems all twisted. Why cannot those who live in Australia call themselves Australian? Why do we shame those who do stand up and say I am Australian. If we are meant to be meek about our country then how are we ever going to get multicultural societies to respect this country and values if we are too scared to ourselves.What I dont understand is whites assuming a black identity, sure the motive is there, but the logical foundation is incorrect.
    Sorry Ray, misinterpreted your comment at 1.27, can see now you were generalising. I dont have luxuries. I had my children and no one owes me a living. If I am physically and mentally able to provide a living for my own offspring, then yes I should provide that and I do. Welfare mentality is not good enough, dont encourage it. I was not presured to have sex and was my own choice, why should anyone else be responsible for the result. The reason I can afford to provide for them is that I work long and hard, one day I will get to sit on my arse, drink piss, yell abuse to those who walk past the house,and do zippo nothing but for the meantime my husband & I have responsibilities.

  39. Craigy says:

    ”What I don’t understand is whites assuming a black identity”.

    No one has done that in this case Angel, Bolt forgot to check. Did you not read the judgment? These are Aboriginal people Angel.

    The mixing percentage of blood is not how we determine someone’s race or culture. Although some nice German and South African Governments have tried that method in the past.

    I think in South Africa the police would check under your tongue to see if you were a black person pretending to be white, maybe we should do that here.

    What do you think Angel, how do we make sure that people are black or white if they say they are.

    And another question for you on your comment to Ray:

    Who should decide when you are no longer ”physically and mentally able to provide a living for my own offspring” ?

    Would being in a wheelchair stop you from providing? Would having a mental health issue? Would having cancer? Would having a bad back? How bad does it need to be to get welfare in your view, and who makes that decision?

  40. Angel says:

    There seems to be 2 distinctions, those that are black and those that choose to be black. If you have an aboriginal grandparent then obviously it is a lifestyle choice to adopt the aboriginal culture. Its logic.
    I haven’t considered how we prove it. I did see a movie, can’t remember name now, of a South African girl born with white pigment. Very upsetting true story.
    I, myself, am capable of providing for my children and would consider it theft of sort to not. This is my responsibility, though not every can and yes we should help those. Simply being Aboriginal is not a reason to avoid personal responsibility and get a free ride in life.
    Guessing I’m giving people more credit than due to just live a truthful and honest life.

  41. Craigy says:

    As was found in the Bolt case, these people did not make a choice to be Aboriginal, they ARE Aboriginal and have been all their lives.

    The idea that some people make a choice about who they are is silly. It is just as silly as saying that people make a choice to be gay.

  42. Iain Hall says:

    Craigy
    I think that you are wrong on both counts here, well to some extent anyway:

    As was found in the Bolt case, these people did not make a choice to be Aboriginal, they ARE Aboriginal and have been all their lives.

    Well not actaully the issue at hand the issue at hand is to what extent does having some indigenous forebears, make some one in need of any affirmative action?, from the Bolt case I think that it very instructive that the sister of one of the plaintiffs does not identify as indigenous.

    The idea that some people make a choice about who they are is silly. It is just as silly as saying that people make a choice to be gay.

    As you must know there is clearly a spectrum when it comes to sexuality, form those who are exclusively heterosexual to those who are exclusively homosexual in the middle of that range are the individuals who swing both ways, and it certainly is the case that for those in the middle of this range can choose to “be” gay or straight.

  43. Craigy says:

    Hi Iain, I hope your feeling better.

    The judge found that Bolt had not checked when he made the assertion that these people made a choice to be black and he accepted the evidence that they have always been Aboriginal people.

    I am happy to look at the ‘white’ sister if you can provide a link?

    And I think if you swing both ways you are Bisexual. Gay people are Gay and Straight are Straight. You may not discover this till later in life but once you have discovered your Gay then that’s it in most cases (unless you have personality disorder of some sort). Yes there are exceptions to every natural human condition, but only on the margins. To say the vast majority of Gay people are born that way is acurate.

    To make the assertion, as Bolt did, that many people make a choice to be black, was wrong and offencive and was pushing a racist agenda as he has done before.

  44. Iain Hall says:

    Craigy

    Hi Iain, I hope your feeling better.

    I was feeling marginally better until I had to change the radiator in our daily driver, before my missus needed the car at 2.30, managed to achieve that but as soon as I’ve collected the kids from the bus Its going to be time for a good lie down!!!

    The judge found that Bolt had not checked when he made the assertion that these people made a choice to be black and he accepted the evidence that they have always been Aboriginal people.

    No Bolt’s assertion was not that they chose to “be” anything but that they chose to identify as indigenous, despite having more European ancestry. Bolt’s argument is in essence that no one should claim any sort of exceptionalism because of their race or ethnicity if you believe in true equality how can you say that such a position is “racist?

    I am happy to look at the ‘white’ sister if you can provide a link?

    I would If I was up too it Craigy but I’m a bit out of it on the pain killers at present and searching for something like that is too hard.

    And I think if you swing both ways you are Bisexual. Gay people are Gay and Straight are Straight. You may not discover this till later in life but once you have discovered your Gay then that’s it in most cases (unless you have personality disorder of some sort). Yes there are exceptions to every natural human condition, but only on the margins. To say the vast majority of Gay people are born that way is accurate.

    No If you have sex with someone of your own gender that is Gay in my book,

    To make the assertion, as Bolt did, that many people make a choice to be black, was wrong and offensive and was pushing a racist agenda as he has done before.

    Craigy I have the choice of identifying as English, or identifying as Australian, under different criteria both are entirely accurate, likewise My wife could identify as either Australian, because she was born here or she could identify as Dutch because her father was Dutch, now why would it be offensive to discuss any choices made by her about how she chooses to identify herself? Frankly its no different when it comes to someone who identifies as ‘indigenous” why should their claims about what they identify as be beyond question or any sort critique?

  45. Iain Hall says:

    I came across this post from my archive and I invite readers to take note of the clear hypocrisy of one Uber lefty in the comments of that post where she clearly wants to deny me the right to identify as a Londoner but thinks that Blackfellers should be unquestioned in the way that they wish to identify themselves. Its an interesting aside if nothing else.

  46. Damage says:

    Craigy will hide from this, but ……….
    From Quadrant.
    Aboriginal academic and political figure Jackie Huggins challenged the identity of one of the three Milroy sisters, Sally Morgan. In a review of Morgan’s book My Place, Huggins complained that the author did not grow up in an Aboriginal community: “I could not identify anything which told me Morgan was an Aboriginal person except the part about our common Aboriginal study grant.” Morgan’s claim, “we had an Aboriginal consciousness now”—made when, aged thirty, she and her mother discovered they were descended from Aborigines of Western Australia’s north-west—was dismissed by Huggins. Genetic inheritance alone did not make someone an Aborigine. “Solely swallowing the genetic cocktail mixture,” Huggins wrote, “does not constitute ‘being’ an Aboriginal as so many Johnny-come-latelies would have whites believe.”
    These comments were made not in some nondescript publication but in an academic peer-reviewed journal “Australian Historical Studies”, April 1993 edition published by Professors Stuart Macintyre and Marian Aveling.
    Huggins herself is adjunct professor in the School of Social Work at the University of Queensland.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?