Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Gender Issues » Gay issues » Twitter does not seem to be a very good idea

Twitter does not seem to be a very good idea

(by SockPuppet ~ not a Twit)

 

“The problem is (IMO) many homos make their sexuality a defining aspect of their being.’’

With that tweet the political career of wannabe Victorian Liberal MP Aaron Lane  looks like ending before it even got really started:

Mr Lane has been called into Liberal headquarters for a “please explain” on that and a series of other “crude” posts on Twitter.

And the Victorian Liberal Premier Dennis ‘Doctor (of Veterinary Science)’ Napthine has said,

“I believe that it’s time for Mr Lane to step down.’’

In other tweets Lane:

  • Referred to former speaker Peter Slipper as “a giant C”
  • Called former Labor Minister Simon Crean “a big C’’
  • Said that “shirts are for faggots’’

Let this be a lesson to all you Twitterers out there:

NEVER.

TELL.

THE. TRUTH.

ON. TWITTER

.

22 Comments

  1. Iain Hall says:

    Socky, there is nothing wrong with telling the truth on Twitter like this:

    or this

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Or this

  3. SockPuppet says:

    [Its My post Iain not YKW’s so (by technical mirracle) I edited your address. Its okay I dont think anyone saw it.]

    And your QandT Tweets are very good lies so you are not in any trouble there.

  4. Matt Patchon says:

    For this reason I stay away from twitter. As for Lane’s comment, that is absolutely true. Even right-minded gay authors/journalists have made the same comment about the Gay Lobbyists.

    Even the heterosexual man or woman is dabbling in foolishness when they try to define themselves based on sexual behaviours.

    So what happens when your sexual preferences change? You would have to go through a whole existential crisis.

    No thanks!

  5. SockPuppet says:

    I dont see much but truth in what he said either Matty thats why I wote it. Well maybe he should not have said “faggots” and said “fuckwits” instead – he would of gotaway with that.

    So what happens when your sexual preferences change?

    I will not be changin my sexual orients anytime soon so I will keep living like a houdenist..

  6. SockPuppet says:

    I think I meant a hodentist.

  7. Iain Hall says:

    notice this Socky?

  8. SockPuppet says:

    I am flushed that the famous Rod Quantock has noticed my cutting edge calculator post (and so is my brother) Iain. I will copy that and put it on the right post too. Does this mean I get off dole wages now Iain?

  9. […] Twitter Does Not Seem To Be A Very Good Idea August 1st, 2014 — “(by SockPuppet ~ not a Twit) The problem is (IMO) many homos make their sexuality a defining aspect of their being. With that tweet the political career of wannabe Victorian Liberal MP Aaron Lane looks like ending before it even gotreally started: Mr Lane has been called into Liberal headquarters for a “please explain” … Continue reading →” 8 Comments […]

  10. Iain Hall says:

    Only when you have done your 25 hours of back breaking slave labour!

  11. SockPuppet says:

    So that means about another 50 cutting edge posts Iain?

  12. Iain Hall says:

    No Socky I’ve been onto the productivity commission and they reckon I need to crack the whip harder and insist on a hundred posts or you get no Smackos for you 😉

  13. SockPuppet says:

    That wil not leave me enough time to apply for 40 other blog writing jobs Iain. I have so far applied at:

    The Drum
    New Matilda
    and Andrew Bolts

    I went to Crikey too but I could not find where PP has gone. Is it in W-Wagga now?

  14. Iain Hall says:

    Jezza and Dave have been doing podcasts but they are too boring for words

  15. Ray Dixon says:

    You’ll have fun on Twitter tomorrow night, Iain. For two reasons:

    1) @shutupIain has been reduced to putting his tweets on your blog (under moderation)
    2) Q & A is coming from Arnhem Land and is an all indigenous panel (cue GD too!)

  16. Ray Dixon says:

    This is for “Joe”

    Iain’s given you one option, mate. And while I don’t really endorse it, unless you listen to “Vito” here, I don’t think you’ve got many other options open to you. Give it a try:

  17. Iain Hall says:

    I like this clip Ray

  18. GD says:

    I am flushed that the famous Rod Quantock has noticed my cutting edge calculator post

    So am I Socky, well done, even though Quantock is a looney lefty who shrieks about ‘global warming’.

    He’s crazy..

    Couldn’t we all do with some global warming right now?

  19. Ray Dixon says:

    Quantock might be clearly a “lefty”, GD, but I wouldn’t call him “crazy”. I think you can see from that video you put up that he’s a real talent, charismatic, witty, animated and an innovator. I mean, to take a serious and potentially boring topic like AGW (which usually sends me to sleep) and turn it into a staged presentation with humour added but still manage to get your point across (and attract a paying audience) is sheer f*cking genius, not to mention hard work.

    That’s creating a whole new genre where no one else dare to tread. Trailblazing stuff, you gotta admit. As were his ‘gatecrashing-of-events’ tours he conducted around Melbourne a while back. Yeah, people actually paid about $20 each to follow him (toy chook on a stick in hand) into theatres, restaurants, weddings and the like while he playfully took pot shots at everyone … and got away with it. He’s a highly original entertainer mate, and you’d have loved it if he had crashed the Rooty Hill RSL when you were on stage playing ‘The more I see you’ and ‘Copacabana’.

  20. Iain Hall says:

    Actually Guys up here its still about 20C+ today and we have not turned on the heat at all this year 😉

  21. Ray Dixon says:

    I’m about to order our 3rd delivery of red gum firewood this winter, Iain. I reckon it was about minus 5 degrees C when I got up this morning … and the fire in the woodheter had gone out. Still, it’s a nice sunny day now, top about 15, I reckon. But those nights …………….

  22. Iain Hall says:

    Well that is why I love Queensland Ray 😀

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

