Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Gender Issues » Gay issues » Ian Thorpe finally admits he swims for the other team, nobody is surprised, cares or thinks that it matters at all

Ian Thorpe finally admits he swims for the other team, nobody is surprised, cares or thinks that it matters at all

As one of those who does not care who fucks who as long as the fucking is all mutually consensual and all of the fuckers are adults I can’t help thinking  with the admission for Ian Thorpe that he swims for the other team “why the lies and bullshit Mr Thorpe?

Back in the spotlight: Ian Thorpe.

Back in the spotlight: Ian Thorpe.

After years of dismissing speculation about his sexuality, Ian Thorpe has revealed he is gay.

Thorpe made the admission in a tell-all interview with Sir Michael Parkinson, News Corp reports.

The interview, which will air on Sunday night on Channel Ten, has been described by Sir Michael as one he had wanted to do for a long time.

“Ian Thorpe has always been near the top of my list to interview. The reasons are obvious. Not many athletes can claim to be the best of all time. Ian can.”

Before he retired for the first time at the age of 24, Thorpe broke 22 world records and won five gold and three silver medals and one bronze medal at the Olympic Games.

But despite his success in the pool, Thorpe’s career has been plagued with persistent rumours about his sexuality.

In his 2012 autobiography, This is Me, Thorpe confronted the speculation head-on: ”For the record, I am not gay and all my sexual experiences have been straight. I’m attracted to women, I love children and aspire to have a family one day … I know what it’s like to grow up and be told what your sexuality is, then realising that it’s not the full reality. I was accused of being gay before I knew who I was.”

source

The way that we put any gormless athlete who can run jump or swim better than other people up on a such a high pedestal is really incredibly tedious. These meat heads are not the sort of inspirations that I think are very good for the young people who are our future. Anyway its obvious to me that the reason that Ian Thorpe consistently lied about which team he swims for was all about the almighty dollar because he thought or was advised that he would be less valuable to sell breakfast cereals as a Gay athlete than he was as a straight one. Now that he has lost much of his previous golden shine coming out provides another chance to get a whole new payday from his shallow celebrity. I would be very surprised if this latest interview to be aired tonight is not going to put money in to Thorpe’s budgie smugglers. Does anyone seriously think that we won’t see a media blitz from this washed up swimmer in the women’s magazines, the Gay media will be delighted to have a new icon to deify and all of this will feed into Thorpe’s budgie smuggler stash.  Does anyone want to bet that it won’t be long before Thorpe becomes the poster boy for all of the elements for the Gay agenda?  Ah the cult of celebrity ain’t it the epitome of the vacuousness of the 24/7 media cycle  that is eternally sucking up any issue or person  who will keep the masses addicted to its electronic heroin.
Cheers Comrades
hypo
29 Comments

  1. Richard Ryan says:

    AND he was not sprung in a London public toilet, making love to himself, like one Sydney media shock-jock.

  2. Richard Ryan says:

    When will GD come out of the closet, or is he a lady boy?

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    The way that we put any gormless athlete who can run jump or swim better than other people up on a such a high pedestal is really incredibly tedious. These meat heads are not the sort of inspirations that I think are very good for the young people who are our future.

    Gormless? Meathead? Those descriptions don’t seem to fit the articulate and well spoken Thorpedo, Iain. Yes it was obvious to everyone that he was gay. And yes he covered it up. So what? Why did we need to know and what did it matter? All that mattered to us was his performance in the pool, not in the sack. His achievements were astounding and he deserves the highest praise. His attitude and character (until recent problems) were also flawless and he was indeed a great role model. The only point I agree with you on is his coming out now (and so publicly) all seems a bit stage managed and perhaps money motivated. Then again, given his battles with drugs & depression (no doubt linked to his supression of his real self), maybe he needs to go through it. Better than topping himself. Good onya Thorpie – you’re a hero, a legend.

  4. SockPuppet says:

    When will GD come out of the closet, or is he a lady boy?

    No Richie the GigGuy is a “lady killer”. Or he was when he was a rockstar and bedded “nearly triple figures” (*) before he was 30. Since 30 his score = 0 but I dont think hes turned to the other teAM. Besides hes only got muslim chicks to look at now.

    (* nearly triple figures of sloots that is)

  5. Iain Hall says:

    Ray I don’t think he deserves to be called any sort of hero. that is an epithet that I think should be reserved for people who risk their lives for others not for someone who can swim fast

  6. Ray Dixon says:

    Okay Iain, maybe “hero” is not the right description but he was (and is) certainly someone to be admired and not derided.

  7. “Lies and bullshit”? What a disgraceful demonstration of veiled homophobia.

    The gay community has always known that Ian Thorpe is gay. He has concealed it because of the attitudes of narrow minded bigots in the community at large. People like you, who claim they don’t care, when in fact they really do.

    It is ironic that Ian came out publicly on the same day that a Melbourne football commentator called a player “a big poofter”. That’s why so many sportspeople and others choose not to divulge their sexuality.

    Why don’t you grow up and grow a pair, instead of finding ways to hate others?

  8. Ray Dixon says:

    Having just watched the full Parko interview with Thorpie, I think he came across as incredibly genuine and articulate. Good on him for finally going public. He didn’t do it for us, he didn’t do it for money … he did it for himself. I just think he’s a very sensitive (perhaps over sensitive) young guy who took a lot of the early homophobic slurs to heart, when at that stage he probably wasn’t even aware of his own sexuality, being so focused on his mission …. which was to be the very best at what he does. And wasn’t he the best? To watch that footage of Sydney 2000 and his efforts, especially in the relay, was the stuff of steel, of champions, of a real man. Good onya Thorpie, you were a bloody champion then and tonight.

  9. Iain Hall says:

    Cassius Forrest
    Firstly let me offer you a warm welcome to my Sandpit

    “Lies and bullshit”? What a disgraceful demonstration of veiled homophobia.

    I have no reason to “veil” the way that I feel about anything but I am also not inclined to sugar coat my dislike of deceptive or misleading behavior.

    The gay community has always known that Ian Thorpe is gay. He has concealed it because of the attitudes of narrow minded bigots in the community at large.

    That is entirely speculation on your part unless you happen to be a personal friend of the man himself. But

    People like you, who claim they don’t care, when in fact they really do.

    Did you not read my opening sentence to this post? That is precisely the way I feel about sexuality,all sexuality

    It is ironic that Ian came out publicly on the same day that a Melbourne football commentator called a player “a big poofter”. That’s why so many sportspeople and others choose not to divulge their sexuality.

    Why do you find that ironic?

    Why don’t you grow up and grow a pair, instead of finding ways to hate others?

    Actually I don’t do “hate” mainly because it takes too much energy to hate anyone. My criticism here is clearly focused on “celebrity” culture and how people like Thorpe become a media commodity.
    Oh and I had a quick glance at your blog which isn’t that bad for something on blogger 😉

  10. Spare me the patronizing and disingenuous denials. You obviously cared enough about Ian Thorpe’s coming out to blog about it. His sexuality is the first thing you mentioned. You accuse him of coming out for money, without any evidence. Not only that, the first thing I did when I found this post is google “gay” and “homosexual” posts on your blog. You are adept at playing the ‘I don’t care about people’s sexuality’ game while condemning gay people. I found compelling evidence of this in about five minutes of searching.

    Ian Thorpe is not guilty of “deceptive or misleading behaviour”. He has never denied being gay and has never pretended to be straight. It’s the media and the general public, and homophobic dills like you, who have made all the running on that subject. He owes nobody an explanation of his sexuality, least of all you.

  11. Matt Patchon says:

    Since everybody’s coming out, so might I: my wife would agree that I have a thing for svelte, black-haired Asian ladies.

    What…why isn’t Channel 10 approaching me with a big paycheck to break my silence on this groundbreaking proclamation?

    I think they’re offerring a few grand for blokes to fess up on TV to their Thai sex tour fettishes, Matt. Give ’em a call.

  12. Iain Hall says:

    Cassius Forrest

    Spare me the patronizing and disingenuous denials.

    I have no need to deny something that does not exist

    You obviously cared enough about Ian Thorpe’s coming out to blog about it.

    Well his being gay has not been in doubt for years,despite the fact that he has been denying it

    His sexuality is the first thing you mentioned.
    Well that was the story in the media so what do you expect me to start with?

    You accuse him of coming out for money, without any evidence.

    That is the way that “celebrity culture” works individuals do interviews for money, they stage events for money just like they promote products for money. So why should you doubt that Thorpe would turn down money on this occasion? After all he has only one profession and that is “being” Ian Thorpe and professionals expect to be paid.

    Not only that, the first thing I did when I found this post is google “gay” and “homosexual” posts on your blog. You are adept at playing the ‘I don’t care about people’s sexuality’ game while condemning gay people. I found compelling evidence of this in about five minutes of searching.

    I criticise lots of people in this blog but I also praise some as well. Further of I condemn someone in this blog its never because of their sexuality.

    Ian Thorpe is not guilty of “deceptive or misleading behaviour”. He has never denied being gay and has never pretended to be straight.

    Oh please! Can’t you read the Age piece I cited in the post, in particular the bit that says”

    In his 2012 autobiography, This is Me, Thorpe confronted the speculation head-on: ”For the record, I am not gay and all my sexual experiences have been straight. I’m attracted to women, I love children and aspire to have a family one day

    Really you are just plain wrong on this point.

    It’s the media and the general public, and homophobic dills like you, who have made all the running on that subject. He owes nobody an explanation of his sexuality, least of all you.

    The thing about making your living from being a celebrity is that you make yourself into a commodity and when you do that you sort of come under the remit of a sort of informal “trade practices act” and if you present yourself as something you aren’t then naturally you get some criticism for doing so. But to be frank I don’t see why you are getting so upset about my post when Thorpe has generally been getting quite positive affirmation for coming out. You see I am old enough to remember when being openly gay took real courage now “coming out” is rather like declaring that you like Dunlop volleys, like who gives a rats what shoes you wear or what rocks your boat in the trouser department? You see that is the underlying point of my post, in our modern Australia no one really cares that Ian Thorpe is gay even when we laughing at the folly of his previous claims to be straight.

  13. GD says:

    I feel sorry for blokes who can’t get it up for a woman, blokes who have to resort to sticking it up the bum of another bloke to get their jollies. Then again, they’re a small percentage of the population and they deserve their happiness where they can find it.

    Who gives a rat’s arse (pun intended) about spoilt pampered former athlete Ian Thorpe. All this kerfuffle is doing is generating more income for the overly-privileged ex-athlete who shows no talent other than swimming up and down a pool. His attempts at a career outside of swimming have shown his failure to cope with life after fame and adulation. Clearly the Parkinson interview is a grab for the money. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

    Just don’t call him a hero. Heroes are fire-fighters, emergency service workers and pioneers like Fred Hollows, not someone who was genetically blessed with the ability to swim up and down a 50 metre pool.

    Cathy Freeman, however, is a sporting legend, not a hero, but a legend.

  14. Iain Hall says:

    Cassis
    Just found this which reports taht the reason that Thorpe did not come out in 2000 was for financial reasons just as I suggested in my post:

    Ian Thorpe contemplated coming out as gay prior to the 2000 Sydney Olympics, but the swimming superstar decided against it because of the detrimental financial consequences suffered by a Canadian swimming star.

    ”I’m ashamed I didn’t come out earlier because I didn’t have the courage to do it,” Thorpe told British interviewer Michael Parkinson on Sunday night. ”I wanted to make my nation proud of me. I didn’t know if Australia wanted its champion to be gay. I am telling the world I am,” he said.
    Ian Thorpe: “I wanted my nation to be proud of me.”

    In mid-2000 the late Terry Gathercole, the head of Swimming Australia, organised for Thorpe to talk to the high-profile, openly gay solicitor John Marsden.
    Marsden told Fairfax Media at the time that he had organised a conference call with Canadian swimmer Mark Tewksbury, who had come out six years after he won the gold medal and broke the world record for the 100-metre backstroke at the 1992 Olympics.

    Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/swimming/deal-or-no-deal-why-thorpe-kept-quiet-20140713-3bv2m.html#ixzz37NrcSTop

  15. richard ryan says:

    And he gets $400,000 for saying he is gay, for $400,000 I would stick it up GDs bum.

  16. Ray Dixon says:

    Who gives a rat’s arse (pun intended) about spoilt pampered former athlete Ian Thorpe

    Spoilt? Pampered? Er, hardly- this is a guy who worked his arse off (no pun intended) to be the greatest swimmer of his time and (at that stage) of all time.

    someone who was genetically blessed with the ability to swim up and down a 50 metre pool

    You were blessed with that ability too, GD. The difference being that Thorpe worked at it and you decided to spurn all manly sporting activity and chase joints & skirts on the music scene instead. And even then, did you make it to the top of your chosen ‘profession’?

    Cathy Freeman, however, is a sporting legend, not a hero, but a legend.

    And Thorpe’s not? 22 world records and 5 Olympic gold, GD – far more than Freeman. What do you have against Thorpe? Besides him being gay.

  17. Ray Dixon says:

    Here’s my take on Ian Thorpe’s life: This is a guy who was swimming (and winning) at the World Chamionships at age 15. Smashing world records at age 16 and winning multiple Olympic gold by age 20. Obviously his entire adolescence and teenage years were consumed by practicisng his sport. Equally obviously he had a huge public profile of this strong, tall, well built and masculine-framed super hero. Girls would actually wet themselves in his presence. He was a sex symbol by what he did and the way he looked long before he started to show any gay behaviour (that came after his success). I’d suggest he repressed (hid) that from the public because (a) he wasn’t sure about it himself (b) he’d been typecast into such a macho role, yet the gigglers and homophobes out there wouldn’t let him be. That made it harder for him to come out and that’s why he lied. As he said in the interview last night, he lied because he owed no one the truth in that regard. As for taking the $400,000 from Parko for the interview, I reckon Parko got a bargain. So did the TV stations that showed it. Don’t forget that Thorpe’s been to hell and back with this and no, it’s not because he has no talent to develop a career beyond swimming, it’s because he was conflicted between his real self and the created image.

    PS to Richard – GD would let you do it for less than that.

  18. Ray Dixon says:

    Iain, what’s wrong with that? Okay, there’s an ‘element’ of career protection in that pre-2000 Olympics decision not to come out but (I ask again), what’s wrong with people protecting their career and earning potential?

  19. Iain, I will admit that I did not see the extract from Ian Thorpe’s 2012 book. But so what? As I said, he is not beholden to you or the general public to divulge his sexuality. It’s none of their business and it’s none of yours. And is it any wonder he chose not to come out, either in 2000 or 2012, when the country is full of troglodytes like your moron friend above, who says that gay men are gay because they “can’t get it up for a woman”? Or that someone might be financially penalized or disadvantaged for admitting they are gay?

    For what it’s worth, I agree with you about celebrity and sportspeople. But this country has a long way to go before gay people feel safe admitting their sexuality. Posts like yours only add to the stigma we have to deal with.

    P.S. “GD”, I wouldn’t ‘stick it up your bum’, reason being you’re 100% arsehole and I wouldn’t know where to start.

  20. Ray Dixon says:

    Since everybody’s coming out, so might I: my wife would agree that I have a thing for svelte, black-haired Asian ladies.

    What…why isn’t Channel 10 approaching me with a big paycheck to break my silence on this groundbreaking proclamation?

    I think Ch 10 is offerring a few grand for older guys to fess up to their sleazy Thai sex tour habits, Matt. Give ’em a call.

  21. Iain Hall says:

    Cassius
    I agree with you that some gay people do still feel reticent about being more honest and open, the son of a good friend of mine is out to his family but not to his school he is a great lad, I have a gay nephew who I never speak to and frankly I can’t stand him, not because he is gay but because he is just not a nice human being. Sadly too often individuals can be like may nephew, annoying ratbags who scream “homophobia”whenever they are criticized or in conflict with other people even though their sexuality has nothing at all to do with the conflict. You see I have always got the impression that Thorpe is a genuinely decent guy and its his decency that will get him through this little PR hiccup now and My Ray my fellow blogger here will tell you that I am famous for being critical of celebrity culture and the lionizing of sports people and actors(who I describe as “professional liars”).

  22. Iain Hall says:

    Ray

    Iain, what’s wrong with that? Okay, there’s an ‘element’ of career protection in that pre-2000 Olympics decision not to come out but (I ask again), what’s wrong with people protecting their career and earning potential?

    If you are basing your public image on being a decent, honest and genuine guy don’t you think that you should actually be one?

  23. Iain Hall says:

    Found this post I wrote earlier about Mr Thorpe and think that it is sort of relevant

  24. Ray Dixon says:

    If you are basing your public image on being a decent, honest and genuine guy don’t you think that you should actually be one?

    He based his image on his sportsmanship, achievements and ambassadorship as an outstanding representaive of this country, not on his private bedroom preferences. He had no obligation to tell the truth about that to the general public because it was simply none of our business. I reckon he was as “honest” as he could (and should) have been.

  25. Iain Hall says:

    Ray, had he said that he did not want to talk about his “private”life then I would agree with you Ray but he flat out lied by insisting not once but many time that he was straight. You can’t hold some one up as a role model to our children and then excuse his lying. Its the fact that he lied that matters because he was lauded for much more than his sporting abilities. Frankly had he done a “boy George” defense of saying that he was more interested in “just having a cup of tea” I would have respected him more because that sort of defense may be evasive but at least its not a flat out lie.

  26. Ray Dixon says:

    he flat out lied by insisting not once but many time that he was straight

    Whoever asked him had no right to do so, Iain. So in those circumstances – when someone is sticking their nose into your private life – I thoroughly endorse, applaud & recommend telling the prying prick to either (a) fuck the hell off while clipping him around the ears or (b) tell a great big fat lie. The prick deserves no more.

    And the only reason Thorpe didn’t take option (a) is because he’d have drawn more adverse attention to himself. You see, Iain, Thorpe is a big guy and the weaslely dimwits slurring homophobic crap at him wouldn’t dare do that unless he was also a big name who couldn’t take the option (a) response due to the likely backlash. That makes the creepy, prying pricks out to be the cowards that they are.

    Besides, I have a golden rule – I never ask blokes if they’re gay (they might think I’m after a bit!)

  27. Iain Hall says:

    Ray
    You have forgotten option “c” which is to politely tell the inquisitor that you don’t discuss your private life.

  28. Ray Dixon says:

    Saying that is as good as an admission, Iain. That’s why he chose option (b), the big fat lie. Besides, I’d be reasonably sure he also answered that way on occasions.

  29. GD says:

    “GD”, I wouldn’t ‘stick it up your bum’, reason being you’re 100% arsehole and I wouldn’t know where to start.

    Nice retort, Cassius, but why be defensive about an act that you blokes practice?

    Ray said:

    Besides, I have a golden rule – I never ask blokes if they’re gay (they might think I’m after a bit!)

    Wadda you reckon, Cassius?

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

