Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Blogging » Radical honesty, or strapped for tact.

Radical honesty, or strapped for tact.

In a spare moment I found this post that I think is worth another airing outside the depths of my archive so I hope that it helps my dear readers consider the points I made there.
Cheers again Comrades

Iain Hall's SANDPIT

We live  our lives steeped in expectations that we should be eternally vigilant lest we upset the feelings of others and you know what I can see the social value of that in providing a sort of social lubricant  that belies the need to explain what you really feel and then to subsequently ameliorate any unintended hurt or offence that your straight shooting honesty may have caused. This when someone asks us  what we think about that new outfit or hairdo  we are more likely than to give them some sort of positive affirmation even when we sincerely think the result is, well, not an improvement or even at all atheistically pleasing. It takes an effort to do this if you are at all self-aware  and one thing that chronic pain does is make you hyper-self -aware and often  rather strapped for tact.

In the normal course of the day…

View original post 597 more words

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

