Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Blogging » Maybe I was right about MH370, after all…

Maybe I was right about MH370, after all…

Detail of the boat track and CPA. Shows the flightpath passing astern from port to starboard. (boat track-up not north-up) Swap the lower two boat track labels round, for some reason they are flipped at larger scales.

Detail of the boat track and CPA. Shows the flightpath passing astern from port to starboard. (boat track-up not north-up) Swap the lower two boat track labels round, for some reason they are flipped at larger scales.

An interesting post about a possible sighting of MH370 of course there is no way of know for sure and I appreciate the author’s reticence in telling anyone about this but in the search for anything that is lost every tiny bit of information may well be the thing that will make the lost found.
Cheers Comrades

Saucy Sailoress

OK, so I have been contacted by a freelance journalist, who asked to interview me.  I answered her questions, but posted them on Cruisers Forum where I work.  She is freelance and has submitted her article to a Sydney based newspaper. It remains to be seen if they will run it, but they might just decide that I am making it all up for a bit of media attention.  Not that it matters.  Having buried my head in the sand regarding what I saw, my fellow members have done an awesome job of asking the right questions to draw out what I can remember.  I have, of course, been googling it obsessively today, since before last night I know pretty much nothing…  The last I heard of the matter, back in mid March, was that people thought it was hiding somewhere in Vietnam… another reason I thought I must have…

View original post 401 more words

5 Comments

  1. Ray Dixon says:

    What a dipstick – she waits nearly 3 months to tell anyone that she saw a burning plane when the news of MH370 was everywhhere, why? Because she was having a tiff with hubby? Have a read of this Fairfax article and decide for yourself whether this woman is totally self absorbed, an idiot or both:

    Ms Tee, who has also written about her experience on her blog, did not initially report her sighting to authorities or even to her husband, she said, as they had been at sea for 13 months and were having relationship difficulties.

    But recent media reports about the difficulties with the search off the West Australian coast had convinced her to come forward this week, she said.

    “We hadn’t spoken for about a week,” Ms Tee said, referring to her relationship with her husband at the time of the sighting.
    “The first time I told him was last night after hearing the radio report. That is when we checked our GPS log and realised that perhaps I really did see it.

    “I did think [initially] that what I saw would add little, and be dismissed with the thousands of other sightings I assumed were being reported; I thought that the authorities would be able to track it’s [MH370’s] GPS log which I assumed was automatically transmitted, etc.

    “And most of all, I wasn’t sure of what I saw. I couldn’t believe it myself. I even doubted my sanity, and didn’t think anyone would believe me when I was having trouble believing my own eyes. So I dismissed it, and got on with the business of fixing me and my marriage.

    “All I can confirm is that I learnt last night that we were in the right place at the right time, so it seems possible.”

    “Fixing me and my marriage”? No hope.

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Ray this is pertinent:

    “All I can confirm is that I learnt last night that we were in the right place at the right time, so it seems possible.”

    In Kate’s defense I will say a couple of things, firstly out on the open ocean there is very little incentive to connect to the news media and even if you do there is not much that one can do. Secondly you are looking at what she felt AT THE TIME from the viewpoint of now when we have one almighty mystery about just what happened to that plane at the time it was just another insignificant air disaster which although somewhat interesting to us was somewhat blah to many other peopel at the time.

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    So your answer to the question I posed in my last comment here was that she is an “idiot” then, Iain? Who but an idiot would have not put two & two together earlier (much earlier) than that? Come on, she had to have made the connection and even admits in the article (and on her blog) that she thought about reporting it much earlier but “dismissed” it because she thought she mightn’t be taken seriously and, besides, they’d find it without her help and (besides/excuse #3) she was so upset and concerned about “fixing me and my marriage”. That puts her back in the “self absorbed” (and almost sociopathic) category, I’d suggest.

  4. Ray Dixon says:

    And Iain, here is the full context of the quote you put up:

    I did think [initially] that what I saw would add little, and be dismissed with the thousands of other sightings I assumed were being reported; I thought that the authorities would be able to track it’s [MH370’s] GPS log which I assumed was automatically transmitted, etc.

    “And most of all, I wasn’t sure of what I saw. I couldn’t believe it myself. I even doubted my sanity, and didn’t think anyone would believe me when I was having trouble believing my own eyes. So I dismissed it, and got on with the business of fixing me and my marriage.

    “All I can confirm is that I learnt last night that we were in the right place at the right time, so it seems possible.”

    The bolded parts clearly refer to her much earlier thoughts. They also suggest she became aware soon after seeing it that the plane was missing – why else say she “assumed” other sightings were being reported and the authorities were tracking it? Past tense, Iain.

  5. Jeff G. says:

    Sounds like a load of horse droppings to me. You see a burning object in the sky and you hear shortly after that a plane has vanished, then you report it straight away. You don’t sit around for three months then write a blog post. Her reasons for “waiting” are ridiculous. Just another attention seeker from the looks of it.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

