Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Blogging » Absolutely Retro Minimalist Simplification

Absolutely Retro Minimalist Simplification

Iain's Seven

My car has been driving me bonkers over the last two years with an intermittent fault which finds it coughing and spluttering and then refusing to run properly. I am pretty sure that the issue is electrical and although I have been trying to trouble-shoot it I have finally come to the conclusion that the best solution is to go totally retro and ditch the EFI and the ECU in favour of carburettors and distributor ignition. The aim is to simplify everything as much as I can so that the car is much more user friendly and more reliable.

Anyway check out the vid that I posted to my YouTube channel.

Today my task is to see if I can fit the Nissan drive dog to the Lucas distributor then it will be only adapting the original Nissan distributor housing which needs to be put into a lathe so that…

View original post 18 more words

5 Comments

  1. Richard Ryan says:

    Iain, know how you feel, I have an intermittent fault with my computer for the past 12 months, the tower just shuts down for no reason, no electrical power, been in for a service 3 times at a cost of over $300—I think like your problem it may be just a simple fault, no expert on cars, but if electrical, may be in the leads, or a loose connection, but I like your idea of keep it simple. If that don’t work spray a bit of electrical cleaner on parts, I have found that to work for some reason. Shalom

  2. GD says:

    Perhaps if you stopped relying on solar and wind power to run your computer you might have better luck 🙂

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    I’m no mechanic, Iain, but that sounds like a fuel line problem. I had it myself in a VN Commodore I once owned. Turned out to be a faulty computer chip that was shutting down the feed. Cost next to nothing to get fixed.

  4. Iain Hall says:

    I really wish that it was that simple Ray but I have replaced fuel pump and fuel filters, tinkered with the TPS checked all connections in the loom I have not reprepared the computer though because its just too expensive/ This scheme may not be the most Hi-tech solution but I really think that it will solve the problem one and for all

  5. Iain Hall says:

    Richard
    With our computer I found that dust can cause it to over heat and then shut down so when it does this what I do Is open the case and use may compressed air blower to blow all of the dust out look in particular to the power supply (usually the metal box which has the fan that vents the case) and the heat sink around the CPU on the main (mother) board If you don’t have compressed air available just use a brush and a vacuum cleaner. Which is what I expect you computer shop did and charged you $300 for .

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

