Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Media Matters » Breaking on through, again

Breaking on through, again

click for source

click for source

I hope that readers can forgive me the immodesty of this but against my expectations I managed to get another tweet up on QandA .  I am quite pleased about this and I can’t help thinking that there has to be a good academic study in just how the ABC decides which tweets to put up on to the screen.

Cheers Comrades

Woman-Brick-Breaker-Head-GIF

 

 

8 Comments

  1. les says:

    I always thought you were a man but the picture above suggests otherwise.

    Well done for coming out at last!

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Les
    appearances can be deceiving

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    Iain, the simple answer to the question in your tweet is that there’s nothing “wrong” with wanting to work until you’re 70 or more, but there’s certainly something “wrong” with a Government that makes people work until that age before they can apply for the pension. That’s punitive and discriminating against the less well off. The solution to this problem (and yes, funding the OA pension is definitely a problem), is to have another look at the assets test. There are some quite wealthy people (sorry, a lot of wealthy people) getting the pension who really don’t need it. The problem could be solved without inflicting any pain – on anyone.

  4. Jeff G. says:

    Correct me if I am wrong Iain but aren’t you an early retiree from paid employment? If so then I don’t think you have the right to lecture other people on when they must give up work.

    I am with Ray, the retirement age should not change. Crack down on people receiving the pension who don’t need it. Maybe bring in some tax incentives for people who choose to work after the age of 60, e.g. a flat income tax rate of 20%. The other thing I would do is to raise the GST to 12 or 12.5%. The biggest problem we have in this country is with spending and productivity. Too many people want to take govt handouts, dodge tax and spend. Not enough want to work and save. Forget the political parties and their policies, this is where our national problems really are. We have become a nation of soft bludgers.

  5. GD says:

    Gee, Jeff, you’re sounding like a conservative! I agree with both Ray and you. Raising the pension age is a misguided attempt to save money.

    Many manual workers are incapable of working past the age of 50 or 60. All this does is shunt them onto the newstart allowance. That’s a joke. Even professional white collar workers have trouble finding new employment after the age of 50.

    Jeff’s suggestion of tax incentives is a good one. I also agree with Jeff and Ray that millionaire retirees shouldn’t be paid the pension.

    Under the Whitlam government, my grandfather was given the pension. He didn’t want it and being a conservative voter, even complained about it. He had to accept it.

    Silly me was too young to say,’ Pops, if you don’t want it, I’ll take it’.

  6. Jeff G. says:

    I have conservative views on some things and liberal or left wing on others GD. I take the views or policies I like, regardless of what party thought them up. I think this is the only way to do it. People who think politics is like a footy game and who barrack for their team right or wrong, well I find them boring and rather silly.

    Anyway, is holding the pension as it stands really a conservative idea? I reckon its probably more consistent with the ALP. I know a few conservatives (not many luckily) who would like to do away with welfare altogether.

    GD is quite correct about ageing blue collar workers. It is almost impossible for labourers to get new jobs if laid off in their 50s. We are going to have thousands more in that situation now the car industry is all but dead and the mining industry is slowing. But what we can do about that, I don’t know. Again, maybe tax breaks or employer subsidies may help. The problem is that labour costs are too high for companies to take on ageing workers at high salaries and declining productivity.

  7. Ray Dixon says:

    GD, it’s the conservatives Abbott & Hockey who are proposing this age increase for the OA pension that you oppose. This is the first time I’ve ever heard you criticise one of their ideas – keep up the good work. Anyway, I don’t think they’ll go ahead with it and what you’ll find is that this is another smoke screen designed to let them off the hook and announce that, “reluctantly”, they are indefinitely deferring Abbott’s never-a-real-option Paid Parental Leave scheme. They might even use it as an excuse to abandon (partially at least) commitment to the NDIS. But they definitely should look at the far-too-generous assets test that allows quite wealthy people to still get the pension.

  8. GD says:

    Ray, I agree with your comment. I’m not sure about the extravagant PPL scheme. The military and police already get it, and so they should, but so do the left-leaning subversive employees of the ABC. Perhaps it should be put on the back-burner.

    As for the aged pension, it was the Rudd government that raised it from 65 to 67. That was a reasonable decision. The Abbott government’s call to raise it to 70 is too soon. However, it now seems that Abbott will take it to the next election, like Howard did with the GST. Contrast that to Gillard and her carbon tax broken promise.

    As for abandoning the NDIS, this was a thought bubble from day one by Gillard. Labor had already emptied the coffers. There wasn’t any money to pay for it.

    Rather than increasing bureaucracy, perhaps strengthening existing disability services would have been better.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

