Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Australian Politics » Prayers in the Parliament

Prayers in the Parliament

There are times when I wonder about our friends of the Green persuasion because it seems to me that no matter what they miss the big picture in their endless pursuit of protesting about something, anything because no matter what the circumstance or what is going on they constantly miss the point.

 click for source

click for source

Now I’m a life long and unrepentant atheist who thinks that any notion of a supernatural being it just utterly silly, none the less I do think that there is value in some religious rituals even  a crotchety old unbeliever like me. I appreciates the sentiments of saying grace before a shared meal. In an uncertain world where so  many go hungry what is not to like about being thankful for the food on the table and the fellowship with those who share the good fortune of sustenance?  Like wise if you look beyond the content of the Lord’s prayer itself to the greater meaning of the affirmation at the beginning of each sitting of parliament, its to remind members and senators that they are servants of the people and that they should be humble and sincere in their deliberations. Frankly that strikes me as something that the political elite can so easily lose sight of as they play the game of politics.  If a prayer to a non existent deity helps them retain their humility and desire to serve the people  is that such a bad thing?

Cheers Comrades

jesussaveszg7

This post is for my believer Bro

6 Comments

  1. deknarf says:

    I’d be more impressed with an oath which affirms their service to the people rather than some mystical diety. This mythical God certainly ain’t helping us under the current government!! 😉

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Deknarf
    Its not about enlisting the aid of the deity as far as I’m concerned , its about our pollies being reminded that they go into the parliament as our servants rather than being our masters as some of them believe.

  3. deknarf says:

    An oath would therefore, serve the same or better purpose if suitably crafted. Doubtful though that any of them would adhere even on pain of death! Now there’s a thought!!

  4. les h matthews says:

    two n’s in superannuation you wally…

  5. Iain Hall says:

    While I agree with your sentiment Deknarf I will take anything that gives us the result of honorable members who are suitably focused deity or no deity

  6. Iain Hall says:

    Les to come here chiding me about a typo is hardly the way to start a good-relation ship now is it? As “superannuation” was not used in this post I can only assume you are referring to my comment elsewhere at NM.
    Anyway welcome to the Sandpit.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

