Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Australian Politics » Taxi driver and the Golem

Taxi driver and the Golem

r847085_7964883It is said that Cabbies are the political barometers of a society and I’m happy to acknowledge that. driving people around everyday lets you see and hear what is important to them. Occasionally when they drive around  aspirants for high office like Bill Shorten they can also provide insights in to the sort of leader they might  be if and when they attain that which the covet.With that in mind I was rather amused by this anecdote that my brother alerted me to this morning.

Once inside the vehicle, Mr Shorten became “abrasive” while giving directions to the Jones Street entrance of the university, David said.

“Shorten got in the front, I knew he was straight away, he didn’t say hello to me or anything.

“He kept saying ‘we’re going to UTS, it’s in the city’, he was really aggressive, he looked like Golem,” David told The Daily Telegraph. “He was quite loud, looking down his nose at me … He was very intimidating.”

David then told Mr Shorten: “You don’t have to yell at me, I’m just dropping you to where you want to go.”

The cab driver, who also shared his experience with 2GB’s Steve Price last night, also said Mr Shorten appeared to be arranging a planted question with a person on the other end of the mobile phone.

“He got straight on the phone to someone and said ‘Hey big boy, ask me this – Albo will be fine with it … ask us the type of prime minister we would like to be remembered as.”

A very similar question was asked of the two prospective leaders last night, to which Mr Shorten replied: “If I was to be prime minister I’d like to be known as the prime minister for the powerless, the disempowered, the people who don’t have a voice in our society.”

Following the prickly conversation, David said Mr Shorten attempted to apologise.

“He wound the window up. He had fear in his eyes, like he was thinking ‘oh s***, I shouldn’t have done this.”

David said one of the men in the back seat paid the fare of $15.60 when they arrived at the destination.

“The guy paid in cash, $15.60 bang on, no tip, three 20 cent pieces.”

Hmm doesn’t this story suggest a couple of things about our Bill?
Firstly it suggests that despite a career in the union movement Shorten does not treat working people like Dave the Cabbie with much respect, and secondly he and his cronies don’t seem to understand that giving a driver a small gratuity is important when they are only earning a very modest hourly rate. All in all its not a such a good look for Shorten.
I do however love the description of Shorten as Golem  which is an image that I just can’t get out of my head!
Cheers Comrades
The resemblance is uncanny

The resemblance is uncanny

8 Comments

  1. Ray Dixon says:

    I don’t know if I believe the cabby or care much about his so-called claims. But I do like the fact Steve Price and the DT have gobbled it up and dented Shorten’s chances of becoming Opposition leader, thereby aiding the Labor Party by helping Albo get elected. They’ve actually helped the ALP while trying to hurt it. Keep up the anti-Shorten posts, Iain, because with Albo in charge the ALP will have a better future than under the gormless, sad sack Bill Shorten.

  2. James says:

    Seems I remember a similar instance of this aspiring leader showing his KRudd/Gillard Labor manners not so long ago.

    Do all these people go to Ray Dixons Labor school of diplomacy? oops I used bold, sorry! And there I go again, used italics, dear me.

    The incident comes a month after Mr Shorten apologised to a Melbourne pie shop owner after a “big misunderstanding” over a $4.80 pie.

    He was accused of abusing store owner Annie Huang after she offered to microwave a pie and swearing as he left the shop – a claim Mr Shorten denies.

    “Bill Shorten came into my shop, asked for a Boscastle pie, then I say: ‘Sold out, sorry,'” Ms Huang said at the time.

    Mr Shorten said that he believed Ms Huang had said to him “It would be soft, like Julia Gillard.”

  3. GD says:

    with Albo in charge the ALP will have a better future

    By golly, I think you’re right Ray.

    As Piers Akerman said:

    Last Sunday morning I was invited to appear on Sky’s Australian Agenda program hosted by Peter van Onselen.
    Unbeknown to me (not that it would have mattered), Albanese was also to appear.
    I had arrived and been through the necessary makeup procedure by the time of his arrival and was seated in the reception area. As he entered, I rose and shook his hand, and offered the usual “G’day”.
    There is nothing unusual about people who hold politically diverse views being civil to each other.
    But something must have been eating Albanese, who preceded me on the set where he appeared in a segment with van Onselen and The Daily Telegraph’s Simon Benson.
    When it was time for me to take my place in the studio and Albanese to depart, he lingered long enough to mention that had he known which glass of water I was to be given he would have “done a golly in it”.A golly (for those unfamiliar with the vernacular of the schoolyard) is the thick, sticky mucus that some uncivilised people hawk and spit in the streets – although there are laws relating to hygiene against such a practise in most Western nations.

    I agree with you Ray about Shorten, but by golly you’ll have to come up with more talent than golly spit Albanese if you want Labor to have a better future.

  4. Richard Ryan says:

    Piers Akerman? What a grub—-a good fuck, gone to waste.

  5. Ray Dixon says:

    Piers wouldn’t be putting a biased slant on it, would he GD? Oh no, not Piers – he wouldn’t take a harmless joke and make it into a shocking news story to denigrate the character of a senior Labor MP, would he? No, of course not, good old konest and unbiased Piers just tells it as it is. The world according to Piers.

  6. James says:

    Dear me Ray, one minute you attack the press for not telling it as it is and the next you attack them for telling it as it is.

    You’re all over the place like a bloody snow flake.

  7. Ray Dixon says:

    You just can’t help yourself, can you James? You’re like a petulant child.

  8. James says:

    Well I guess then I’m in good company, aren’t I Raymond?

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

