Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Cars » What I did yesterday

What I did yesterday

It actually feels like winter here this morning its cold and rather damp  with a real (pardon me while I get a bit hippy-trippy) cold weather vibe.  Today I am rather tired, a little sore but reasonably cheerful. I like this time of the year and I have rediscovered a bit of enthusiasm for the project in my shed. You see I went to visit one of my brother’s yesterday in my sports car, it was really an excuse to go for a decent test drive in the car after fitting the extractors. On the way there I filled it with a tank of regular unleaded and on the way back I filled with premium and I am now certain that the extra couple of bucks for a tank of premium is worth it for a much smoother running engine. I could really hear the difference in the exhaust note between the different fuels.

The 1960 Triumph Herald

The 1960 Triumph Herald

When I got there, my bro was working on his latest restoration, a 1960 triumph herald hard top coupe. While I was there I helped him get the engine running. my input into the process was rather minimal. I just screwed in a set of plugs and after we drove into the nearest town in my car for petrol  she fired up like a little ripper even though the exhaust pipe is currently truncated just under the gearbox I was in awe of just how sweet she sounded. Its rather amazing when you consider that the engine has been sitting idle since 1994! My bro was rather keen to have the exhaust remade with the same puny 1″ diameter pipe but I think that I have convinced him that he should got to at least 1¼” or even 1½ to make the 948cc engine breathe a bit better. I am offering him a nice “Staintune” stainless steel motorcycle muffler that I found by the side of the road for the car which should give it a nice note and last many years .

Its nice to see my car loving bro finally getting himself a really cute and fun “sports” model  instead of the more pedestrian models that he has previously restored and you really could not get anything much nicer than the Herald which is the epitome of the swinging sixties  with just a dash of fifties finny fun. It was good for me in another way because I found laying on a shelf in his workshop just what I have been looking for to add a heater to my car.

heater1

Its an oil cooler that will become the new heater matrix and it will be small enough to fit between the dash under panel and the top of the transmission tunnel. To make it work as a car heater my plan it to fit two computer fans on top and a fascia panel  in front that will help direct the warmed air into the foot wells. This certainly won’t fully  warm the very open car but it will keep driver and passenger feet warm enough in a Queensland winter. Now all I have to do is get  a couple of tail-pieces instead of the banjo bolts a couple of meters of heater hose and Robert is your mothers brother!

Such are the joys of DIY  car building where ingenuity is more important than very deep pockets.

Cheers Comrades

This is my new project a 1946 Morris eight hill climbing special

This is my new project a 1946 Morris eight hill climbing special

You can’t fault my brother for his work ethic so find below some pictures of his efforts today

6 Comments

  1. Richard Ryan says:

    Henry Ford would have been proud of you!

  2. Ray Dixon says:

    a 1960 triumph herald

    I remember when these Brirish cars first arrived here, Iain. They were absolute rust buckets and just fell apart. They were laughed off the market – much like the Lleyand P76 was years later.

  3. Iain Hall says:

    Ray
    in my experience all cars made in the sixties are rust buckets unless they spend their entire existence in the desert, the cars of that period were just not well protected against corrosion. as for the engineering of the car it was very innovative for the time. It had independent rear suspension when its rival the Austin Healey sprite had a live axle. Its styling was hip and spunky and that most important quality for any car , it was FUN

  4. Richard Ryan says:

    My first car in Australia was a ’61 FB Holden, bought it 1968, in Newcastle from a car yard on Maitland Road, for $300. Gee it was a good reliable machine, two tone pink and grey. Drove it across to Perth, did not miss a beat. Plenty of rust in the boot, worked for a couple of years in the North West, sold the car in Perth, but it was a good old beast.

  5. Iain Hall says:

    I had a FE Ute Richard and I have always rated them as one of the prettiest Holdens that could be a really nice ride now with a bit of work, like a modern engine transmission, upgraded brakes and suspension.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

