Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Cars » Extractors fitting update

Extractors fitting update

Beauty in stainless steel

Beauty in stainless steel

Regular petrol head readers may recall  me posting about my anticipation of the arrival of a set of stainless steel headers from the USA well they arrived about a week ago and it has taken me a while to find the time and good weather to fit them to the car.  Well I had a window of opportunity on Monday and I was able to fit them but firstly I had to cut them just beyond the final merge and my collection of “come in handy goodies ” had a nicely made slip joint of the right size which then had to welded to the cut down  connector piece that runs between the original  manifold  and my 2 ½ inch external exhaust. With a bit of eye-balling ,  cutting and tack welding while the car  was propped on one side (on ramps , I’m very safety conscious) I then took it right off the car and  welded the connection gas tight and  I then had to rush to reassemble the car before it was time to pick up my children form the bus stop.  I made it with only a few minutes to spare.

its amazing what a bit of heat does to a shiny header

its amazing what a bit of heat does to a shiny header

Of course the headers have not stayed the same shiny silver colour because as soon as the engine was started they first turned a straw brown  and then a slightly blueish/purplsih tone its all good though as there does seem to be a distinctly different feel to the engine when it is asked the question. While I don’t really rate my “seat of the pants”  dyno for specific accuracy the engine does rev  out more smoothly  and with more vigour so I think that the headers have made a worthwhile difference. They promise 10% power increase which would take my engine’s 86KW to 94.6KW which probably won’t make much difference in the real world but as they say too much power is never enough so I will take whatever gains the headers give as a bonus.

There are many problems inherent in the stock manifold. Firstly it is bad practice to pair cylinders 1&2 and 3&4 . Secondly it is restrictive in the amount of air it can flow and finally it weighs a motza.

There are many problems inherent in the stock manifold. Firstly it is bad practice to pair cylinders 1&2 and 3&4 (1&4 and 2&3 is the ideal). Secondly it is restrictive in the amount of air it can flow and finally it weighs a motza.

As  for the all important  exhaust note there is a distinct difference  to the stock manifold but it is not at all excessively noisy the sound is deeper and more meaty without being anti-social. However I doubt that they will improve my fuel consumption because the car now just sounds SOOOOOO nice when I give it some welly that I just want to give it more welly all the time just to hear that glorious noise*.

Cheers Comrades

images

*I have some video to share the new note but I have been having some difficulty in uploading this to you-tube

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

