Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Australian Politics » Auntie’s continuing love of the ALP despite Gillard being utterly unlovable

Auntie’s continuing love of the ALP despite Gillard being utterly unlovable

Have other viewers of the ABC noticed the ads for a new two part documentary  focusing on Gough? I actually voted for Gough in both 1972 and 1975 but that was well before I had my personal epiphany that the Labor party is irrevocably flawed and far from the best people to govern the wide brown land.

That said I can’t for the life of me ignore the timing of this presentation from Auntie what it amount to is two hours of pro ALP  propaganda from the supposedly “balanced” ABC. I am sure that the current government will be gleeful that the national broadcaster is running a program that may help to bring at least a few of the stray voters back to the fold based entirely on the warmth and sentimentality for  Saint Gough. Its really a sad indictment of the Gillard government that Gough is considered a better example of Labor virtues.

On top of all of this we have had endless eulogising of Hazel Hawke  on the ABC ….

That’s a very sad sigh from me Comrades

Red_rose_closeup

 

 

 

10 Comments

  1. Ray Dixon says:

    Wait and see, Iain. I have a feeling the Gough show will not cast his government in a great light.

    And when Abbott gets in he’ll sell off the ABC to Channel 9 and then we’ll get mini-series on such illuminaries as Fraser & Howard. Riveting stuff!

  2. Iain Hall says:

    The ads for the show suggest that it will be rather warm and fawning Ray. That said the timing strikes me as being rather deliberate…

  3. deknarf says:

    Given that the overall consensus on Gough is somewhat negative, I’d take the contra position that this is a deliberate attempt by a pro NO Coaltion ABC to portray the Labor party in a negative light despite what Gough did for this country.
    I have him to thank for my opportunity to get out of a dying trade (printing) and go to University and obtain a post grad degree, and for the country to benefit from me paying around 30% of my much improved salaries in taxation to the countries coffers.
    So I’m with Ray, on the wait and see!

  4. Iain Hall says:

    Well Deknarf I too got my degree courtesy of Gough (and I even shook his hand once) but that has not stopped me being critical of the things done badly under his leadership. That said we shall wait and see but I expect that he will be treated like a Saint by the lefties at the ABC

  5. deknarf says:

    Pretty reasonable, balanced and unbiased start on the Gough program I thought! Apart from Little Johnny being his usual ‘damner with faint praise’ it was pretty reasonable. Let’s see what happens next week, eh?

  6. Ray Dixon says:

    Yes deknarf, I don’t think it’s designed to favour Gillard one little bit, as Iain claimed it would be. It’s pretty much ‘warts and all’. My take on Whitlam is he was in the right place at the right time, had great ideas but not the practical experience to carry them all out. And, worst of all, he was surrounded by incompetent idiots and old dogs of the party. He was before his time and would’ve been more suited to this century than last.

  7. deknarf says:

    I’d agree with you on being surrounded by idiots. Don’t think he was before his time though. He was a timely breath of fresh air in what was really a stultifying country ruled by mediocrity and the old guard. The baby boomers (I’m one) wanted greater freedom and he really facilitated that. He also got us out of a stupid and pointless war in Vietnam, once again foisted on us by conservatism (I was fortunate to miss the draft by 1 day). Ultimately Gough will go down in history as someone who facilitated Australia modernising!

  8. Ray Dixon says:

    I think the changes were more driven by the change in the voter demographic (ie by baby boomers getting the vote) and Gough was clever enough to tap into that. Any Labor leader would have won in 1972 (look at who they were up against!!) except Caldwell of course. I’m not trying to belittle Whitlam, but realistically he was reflecting the change in society that was happening all by itself. Great man for his time but I still think he’d be even greater today (less idiots to stuff it up for him). I missed being drafted by one day too – twice (the day before and the day after my birthday were drawn).

  9. Iain Hall says:

    Don’t dismiss what a great orator Gough was as a factor in his rise to power he was a very inspiring speaker and a delight to listen too in the parliament.

  10. Ray Dixon says:

    For sure, Iain. But the young people weren’t looking for “a great orator”, they were demanding change … and that’s where Gough came in, as the facilitator of that change. He delivered it in spades of course but maybe he started to believe his own publicity – ie that he’d be supported no matter what. Things changed pretty quickly, not all his own fault though. Something about a desperate & dirty opposition, a bent Qld Premier and a drunk Governor General.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

