Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Leftism » Anti fun brigade » Its not evidence of conservative capture of the ABC

Its not evidence of conservative capture of the ABC

Let me begin by saying that I like the ABC , I would rate its news reporting above all others in the country, some of my favourite entrainment is broadcast by Auntie and better yet they do not carry advertising within the body of their programming, endless promotion for their own programs and products between shows is another issue which niggles rather than making me seethe but I accept it with the knowledge that its  still better than the commercial alternatives. Which brings us to the topic of today’s post namely political bias in its News and current affairs:

click for source

click for source

While I agree that the sample size of the entire survey is too small to draw definitive conclusions about the ABC the vibe that long time conservative viewers like yours truly gets in listening to their radio and watching their TV news reporting suggests that the survey is what I would have expected. One thing that I am sure of though is that those minions of the far  left who have been running the argument that the ABC is now a creature of the coalition are seeing the criticism of the Gillard government entirely the wrong way.  Its not evidence of conservative capture of the ABC its evidence of just how bad the government is when   even the left leaning ABC feel compelled to be openly hostile and overtly critical of our inept, dishonest and morally bankrupt Labor government.

Cheers Comrades

200_breaking-news-animated-bann3

10 Comments

  1. Ray Dixon says:

    Iain, I don’t think there’s any surprise in that and, if anything, it suggests that ABC journos present objective news reports & comment despite their personal political leanings. Take Jon Faine: I’d suggest he’s a Greens voter but he hardly shows the type of extreme bias and prejudice your right-wing idol Andrew Bolt does. Or Alan Jones.

    And, as we both know and agree, journos don’t influence election outcomes anyway, even when they try to. And going down the media-bashing path is a sure way to bring about an end to your blogging career. Just ask the ex PP boys.

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Ray
    as I say in my introduction I LIKE the ABC and I have never dismissed their journalism because of their political bias I just take that bias into consideration when I read or watch their content as I do with ALL media sources. The inspiration for this post is largely the sort of bitter lefties who want to insist that the ABC has been taken over by the right. They are sadly unable to accept that the government deserves criticism because it is performance has been woeful. They seem to think that because the ABC has historically of the left that it should uncritically endorse Labor/Greens policy and action at all times.

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    Okay, I concur with that, Iain. I remember a few PP posts along the line that the ABC had ‘turned’. That’s what happens, I guess, when you have the blinkered view that everyone but you is overly-influenced by the media. Where is Craigy when he’s needed, btw?

  4. deknarf says:

    There is nothing like a trend, based on a small sample size! ;-))

  5. Iain Hall says:

    Sure its a small sample size Deknarf but the the result seems consistent with what I observe as a regular Watcher/listener to ABC

  6. Stuart.W says:

    Remember when the Climategate scandal broke? It exposed “climate change” as the fraud it is, millions of google hits, all over the news. it was the story of the moment. Jon Faine duly announced. “I won’t be taking calls or discussing this issue, I don’t consider it newsworthy”.

    I wonder is that bias? What about the taxpayers who pay his wages and wanted to discuss it.

  7. deknarf says:

    Ah a sample size of one! You need at least three to give you a mean and standard deviation!! 😉

  8. Iain Hall says:

    No Deknarf I am not at all mean and I can assure you also that I am not a deviant by any measure that matters either.
    😆

  9. deknarf says:

    As long at you don’t become a statistical aberration Iain! 😉

  10. Iain Hall says:

    Never gonna happen Deknarf!

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

