Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Cars » The Ebay dilemma

The Ebay dilemma

The item is actually something that I want and I won it for the princely sum of $5 but the seller charged  me $20 bucks for postage  (actual cost of postage $13.45) so really not too much to pay over all for an nice  Autotechnica steering wheel. My dilemma is that this seller stuffed me around a real lot by being really slack about posting the item, flat out lied to me that it had been posted when it hadn’t and then messaged me to ask for my postal address!

My first instinct is to leave this idiot negative feedback and that will ruin his ebay future (where reputation is everything) but then again I find it hard to be so cruel to someone who may be just stupid or otherwise incompetent and not deserving of my anger and wrath. So dear reader do I just let the matter go for the sake of good Karma or do I leave this idiot negative feedback to protect other ebay users from this chap’s  sloth and  sloppiness?

Cheers Comrades

3 Comments

  1. deknarf says:

    I think your seller has successfully passed the three strikes you’re out criteria. I’d be leaving the negative feedback.

  2. Brian says:

    You could also do what I’ve done a couple of times and not leave any feedback. I had one woman take almost a month to send off the item I bought from her. Within about 3 days of me getting it, she was e-mailing asking why I hadn’t left her positive feedback. I told her that I didn’t think she deserved it but neither did I think negative feedback was appropriate.

    It cheeses me off when e-bayers overcharge for postage though. There is no excuse for that these days, with online weight/postage calculators, etc. A $6 overcharge on a $5 item is a bit much, I think.

  3. Iain Hall says:

    Well I left him negative feedback this morning Brian and the postage thing pisses me off as well I’ve sold my fair share of things on ebay and I only ever charged what it costs me to post, I always recycle post packs and other packing materials. More than anything though it was him telling me that he had posted it and then asking for my postal address that upset me.

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

