Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Australian Politics » Smoke gets in your eyes and the Iain Hall tick of approval

Smoke gets in your eyes and the Iain Hall tick of approval

Both of my parents were smokers and when I was growing up it was unusual to meet anyone who did not smoke something.So I  was like a lot of schoolboys and  dabbled with the dreaded coffin nails a but I just got nothing out of it and I managed to avoid developing the habit. That said when my father was dying from M S the thing that distressed him most was that the staff in the nursing home would not let him smoke. He was bed bound nearly blind and wasted away yet it was the gaspers that he dreamed about.  Now as I get older and watch my children grow older I am delighted to see that smoking is in very serious decline so I am glad to see that the habit is discouraged by this otherwise bad Labor government  and that their plain packaging legislation has survived the challenge in the courts. from the tobacco companies.

Make the most of it Ray because this is one of the few time when I’m going to give this government the Iain Hall tick of approval!

Cheers Comrades

 

3 Comments

  1. deknarf says:

    Couldn’t agree more. This is a great outcome. Haven’t smoked now for some 25 years and stopping was the smartest move I’ve ever made.
    They talk about cocaine, herion and meth being addictive drugs — tobacco is up there with these.
    A great effort by Labor. It’s just a pity that the Coalition couldn’t have shown more support.

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Gee deknarf at this rate you ,might even end up thinking that I’m not such a bad bloke!!!

  3. deknarf says:

    Never said you weren’t a bad bloke Iain. You’ve just got some crazy political ideas 😉
    Who knows, perhaps in time I can help you get rid of them! ;-O

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

