Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Cars » The spare tyre, a weighty necessity or something you can do without?

The spare tyre, a weighty necessity or something you can do without?

click for source

Once you get beyond the question of Toyota changing the specification of this car between when buyers have signed the contract and when the car is to be delivered which is bad form in my opinion we come to a question of just how necessary a spare tyre is these days anyway. Tyres certainly do seem to be a lot more reliable than they used to be, heck with my sports car I have never had a spare and even when I have had a flat tyre I found that because of its light weight that I could still safely drive the car far enough to get it fixed. Anyway how many drivers out there have really needed their spare and how many would be happy with an “inflation kit” (spare in a can) as an alternative?
Cheers Comrades

14 Comments

  1. deknarf says:

    It could be the end of human society as we know it! 🙂

  2. Ray Dixon says:

    Not that I’m a petrol-head, Iain, but I feel compelled to point out the irony of Toyota selling its ’86’, which is the exact same car as Subaru’s BRZ (they co-developed it), for $7,000 less than Subaru …. yet Subaru sold all its 150 vehicles online in under 3 hours last week. It just goes to show you that people will pay more just to have a more sports-regarded badge like Subaru instead of Toyota. And that Toyotas are for: women, old farts and nursing-home residents.

  3. Iain Hall says:

    Well we won’t dare to make gross generalisations about people who drive Hyundais then will we Ray?
    😆

  4. Ray Dixon says:

    Hyundais are for people with good taste, mate (*). And those that realise you don’t have to spend a fortune to get a seriously good car. Honestly, Iain, they are world leaders.

    (* So much so that I’m about to buy another one in the next few months – can’t beat ’em)

  5. Iain Hall says:

    My mother in law has a Hyundai Ray and although its a sound enough little car it is certainly rather boring and in many ways its just a poor man’s Mitsubishi (the engines are usually from that makers design)I will agree with you that they are good value for money though.

  6. Ray Dixon says:

    The older ones were so-so, Iain (much like the early Mazdas and Hondas), but over the last few years Hyundai’s advancement in styling (very European), technology and performance has been of quantum-leap magnitude. So if your m-i-law’s Hyundai is an older one you can’t compare it to what they produce today.

    As for a ‘poor man’s Mitsubishi’, please don’t insult me. Mitsubishi = biggest piece of shit on the roads. That and Nissans.

  7. Iain Hall says:

    I don’t know Ray an EVO 10 is a serious bit of kit.

    Personally of your current car is serving you well why change it? Buying new cars is a quick way to lose money, or is it a business lease thingo?

  8. Ray Dixon says:

    An EVO 10???

    I knew I shouldn’t have commented on a car post – out of my depth. Anyway, no, I don’t lease or borrow money to buy depreciating assets like motor cars. And, at the price they are now, you can afford to turn them over every 4 – 6 years, I reckon. Before anything goes wrong.

  9. Iain Hall says:

    Fair enough on your rationale Ray
    Yeah this is an EVO 10 BTW
    Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

  10. Ray Dixon says:

    Oh … a racing car. For hoons.

  11. GD says:

    I reckon you shouldn’t be allowed to drive a car like that on the road until you’re at least fifty.

  12. GD says:

    The only spare tyre I’ve got these days is around my waist. On the rare occasion of a flat, I’ve either called road services or used ‘a spare in a can’. A few years back I was having lunch at the Toonie pub. I mentioned to a former truck driving mate at the table that I had a flat tyre, just across the road. He offered to lend a hand. It took him a lot longer than he expected. He finally resorted to reaching inside his van to pull out a massive steel bar.

    An AA graduate, he said, ‘I used to use this to break things, now I use it to fix things’.

    Those gas guns that the mechanics use to tighten the bolts on the wheels surely prohibit any normal person being able to take a flat tyre off.

  13. Iain Hall says:

    Oh yeah GD rattle guns are a tough act to follow with a lug wrench!

  14. GD says:

    The spare tyre, a weighty necessity or something you can do without?

    Sounds like you’re talking about my ex-missus 🙂

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

