Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Domestic life » What do you do when your 12 year old comes up and announces that she wants to watch the State of Origin game?

What do you do when your 12 year old comes up and announces that she wants to watch the State of Origin game?

What do you do , as a long time supporter  of the Anti football league, when your 12  year old daughter comes up and announces that she wants to watch the State of Origin game?

Well I did the only thing that a good father can do and I immediately suggested that we watch the game together and you know what comrades I enjoyed the experience, It helped a great deal that QUEENSLAND thrashed the Blues but I have to admit that I am warming  (slightly )  to the idea that watching sport can be pleasurable:

click for source

TRY!!!! Comrades

4 Comments

  1. Ray Dixon says:

    “I am warming (slightly ) to the idea that watching sport can be pleasurable”

    About time, Iain. Now you just need to take the next step to AFL. Why not make Gold Coast your team? They’ve probably got a better prospect of success in the next few years than Brisbane does.

  2. Iain Hall says:

    The Gold Coast???
    Mate I loathe the Gold Coast as a place and I loathe it for its crassness and faux, well everything!
    Were I to convert to the AFL religion I think that I would put barracking for Collingwood above the Gold coast!

    Let me warm to the State of Origin before you try to convince me that AFL is better….

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    Barracking for Collingwood is not above anything, Iain, but here’s how you do it:

    1. Knock all your teeth out
    2. Get an armload of tats
    3. Stop washing and using deodrant
    4. Get really fat
    5. Get really pissed – often. Always.
    6. Devocabularise yourself down to one syllable words
    7. Learn how to grunt a lot
    8. Become an excellent farter
    9. Smoke Winnie Reds
    10. Get a Pit Bull Terrier as your pet

    There are a few more steps before you’ll qualify but you get the gist. It’s a hard road but they tell me it’s worth it. I mean, ignorance is bliss.

  4. Iain Hall says:

    Well to like the Gold Coast you firstly have to have a a lobotomy and then you need hourly ECT just to prevent any brain cell regrowth, you then have to develop an addiction to fake tan and fake boobs.
    Mate meeting your requirements to be a Collingwood supporter sounds preferable!
    Strangely a large number of Victorians just love the Gold Coast and and have been emigrating there for years which is another good reason not to choose their AFL team…

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

