Iain Hall's SANDPIT

Home » Blogging » Threats of litigation from Jeremy Sear

Threats of litigation from Jeremy Sear

Will the excitement never end?

I found this in my inbox this morning from our learned friend who has taken offense at a piece written by Leon in November 2010 :

Of course being a prudent man I have  made the post password protected and it is also now without its original title   even though I am confident that the content of that post is entirely defensible.

What else can a bloke do when faced with a “shut up” writ?

The timing of this demand strikes me as rather strange though given our more recent travails as the piece  in question was written more than a year ago  in November 2010.

Please note that Jeremy Sear included no non-publication disclaimer with his emailed threat and demand.

Cheers Comrades

Iain Hall

9 Comments

  1. Ray Dixon says:

    Iain, look at the date.

  2. Iain Hall says:

    Yes Ray
    I know what day it is but the email was sent yesterday afternoon before the starting time for japes and jokes and jolly frauds.

  3. Ray Dixon says:

    Or maybe it’s your April Fools Day joke, Iain?

    If it’s legit though, it’s no surprise. I’ve been accused ‘elsewhere’ (as you know) of threatening to “sue the Internets” but my protests pale into insignificance compared to others.

  4. Leon Bertrand says:

    I’m very disapointed that Jeremy keeps trying to silence his critics in this manner.

    Combined with his joy at the Federal Court’s ruling against Andrew Bolt, it makes a mockery of Jeremy’s claims to be in favour of free and rigorous debate.

  5. Iain Hall says:

    I agree Leon, but which is why I have made his threats public and the post private.

  6. Paul says:

    Wow Iain, after reading your blog for only a few weeks its already obvious that you need to have a pretty good handle on the law to deal with what seems like a lot of legal wrangling between blogers. I don’t know if I’d be able to do it. It must be exhausting sometimes I bet.

    Paul

  7. Iain Hall says:

    Thanks for the observation Paul, yes it can be exhausting dealing with legal threats but what would life be with out a bit of argy bargy form time to time?

  8. Ray Dixon says:

    Iain, in Jeremy’s email it states that the post comes up on Google using the search term “Jeremy Sear barrister”. But it does not come up under that term, not in quotation marks as he has written it, and never did.

    Entering Jeremy Sear barrister without quotation marks does (and presumably did) bring up the post but now both the heading and the text is hidden and there is no Google cache with that either.

    Ergo it seems his recent notice was invalid. And you have no case to answer.*

    (* of course I am not a lawyer!)

  9. Richard Ryan says:

    ” A lawyer with his briefcase can steal more than a thousand men with guns” (The Godfather 1969)

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

