Home » Cute » Malcom McLaren, the blessed Spike and the day after next Tuesday

Malcom McLaren, the blessed Spike and the day after next Tuesday

These days I refer to myself as an “aging hippie” in homage to my laid back attitude to life and living and as a reflection of my belief in personal liberty and my desire to make the idea of “working it out for yourself” more universal but way back in the early eighties I was a rather different Iain Hall. I had done my matriculation as an adult student and been accepted in to the University of Queensland to study the Arts and I was enjoying the life of a student, enjoying riding my bikes living in share houses. Like a lot of students I spent my time going to see various bands and had a collection of Albums in a milk crate. Getting a stereo that would not jump when people danced in the lounge room and gave decent sound was but a dream. Punk music was  loud , irreverent, cheeky and brash but more importantly it was fun. Right up there in the centre of that maelstrom was Malcolm Mclaren.

click for source

click for source

All of my preamble was to introduce the notion that the gravestone we leave can sometimes be a really beautiful summation of a life. For instance I just love the inscription on the Grave of the blessed Spike Milligan which  reads “I told you I was ill” it beautifully sums up the man and is also cheekily funny as are so many of his nonsense poems. I suspect its my old codger-hood but I find myself thinking more and more about such things, about the monuments we commission or inspire and how they can sum up a life (hopefully ) well lived, of sins addressed, atonements made and the things left undone by untimely ends, so maybe I need to address my worst sin which is procrastination…
Hmm I think that will have to wait until the day after next Tuesday…
Cheers Comrades

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 Comments

  1. deknarf says:

    Took advantage of Gough freeing up tertiary education and mature matriculation did we? Well, so did I in 1975 and enjoyed those university days very much. The post-doc degree was very much icing on the cake!!

  2. Ray Dixon says:

    Geezus Iain, is everything okay? What news do you get next week? I hope it’s not what I’m thinking but if it is … share it.

    Anyway, for my tombstone I have instructed thus:

    “Never explain, never justify …. the story would bore you to shits anyway”

  3. Iain Hall says:

    Yeah every thing is Ok Ray I’m on a new medication regime which seems to be working better but I have had a few days here and there that inspire thoughts about mortality.

    Anyway for my epitaph I reckon something along the lines of “No surrender and No prisoners” might be apt ;)

    Deknarf
    Yes I thank Gough for my education and the fact that I had a great four years studying, met my wife, had lots of studenty adventures, oh yeah and I learned a thing or two as well ;) :-)

  4. Ray Dixon says:

    Well, my other option is:

    “I might be dead but I’m still online”

  5. Ray Dixon says:

    What the hell, while I’m at it here are some tombstone epitahs for others here:

    For GD: “This better be a whites only cemetery”

    For Craigy: “Yes, it’s a bio-degradable cardboard box.”

    For Brian aka ….. : “It’s not me”

    For HJ/Damage: “The person named here is innocent”

    For Sax: “Shot down by the Red Baron”

    For Richard: “Shalom”

Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Sandpit

I love a good argument so please leave a comment

Please support the Sandpit

Please support the Sandpit

Do you feel lucky?

Do you feel lucky?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

